Komori
Financial results presentation4631DIC CorporationMaterials and Chemicals

Financial Results Briefing Materials for the Second Quarter of the Fiscal Year Ending December 2026

In the first half of 2026, revenue and profit increased on strong semiconductor-related demand, price revisions and cost reductions, and operating profit reached a record high. The full-year forecast was raised from ¥56.0 billion to ¥78.0 billion for operating profit and from ¥33.0 billion to ¥48.0 billion for net income attributable to owners of the parent. The company also decided on an annual dividend of ¥150 per share and a ¥10.0 billion share buyback.

Worth reading
71In focus
Scored from 5 of 6 sections
Direction
Improvement
Direction inferred from the company’s description.
Scale
220
¥100 million (increase from the previous full-year operating profit forecast)
Wording
Conditional
How definitive the wording is.

Contents of this document

Financial results presentationSecond quarter of the fiscal year ending December 2026 (first half)11 items taken from the company’s own explanation
Financial Results Figures (The key points of this material are explained below)
Net Sales¥5,930 100 million+13.3%
Operating profit¥518 100 million+92.2%
Ordinary income¥523 100 million+157.7%
Net income¥372 100 million +184.1%interim net income attributable to owners of the parent
Operating profit margin8.7 %
Selling, general and administrative expenses¥934 100 million expense
Results for the three months of the current quarter
Net Sales
¥3,105 100 million
Operating profit
¥273 100 million
Full-year earnings forecast
Net Sales
¥11,400 100 million
Operating profit
¥780 100 million
Ordinary income
¥730 100 million
Profit attributable to owners of the parent
¥480 100 million
EBITDA
¥1,300 100 million
Capital Expenditure and Investments
¥534 100 million
What the company explained in this material
Breakdown of Factors Affecting the ChangeReasons cited by the Company for the change in the figures.
  • Strong performance by high-value-added products, including Chemtronics products
  • Price revisions progressed at a rapid pace
  • Positive foreign exchange translation impact on overseas businesses from the weaker yen
  • The negative impact of surging raw material prices gradually emerged
  • One-time gain (reversal of a provision related to repairs)
Assumptions Underlying the Business OutlookThe assumptions used by the company in preparing its forecast.
Average USD/JPY exchange rate¥150.00
Average EUR/JPY exchange rate¥175.00
Crude oil (WTI)US$75.00 per barrel
Domestic naphtha¥85,500/kl
New initiatives
  • Construction of a new epoxy resin plant for semiconductor applications
  • Establishment in Switzerland of an activity base responsible for strategic investment in and creation of collaborations with startups in the deep-tech sector
  • Execution of an additional ¥10.0 billion share buyback
Key KPIsA metric the company considers important as a management benchmark.
  • Chemtronics business revenue¥376 100 million
    Year on year against the same period last year+25.5%
  • Chemtronics business operating profit¥81 100 million
    Year on year against the same period last year+150.0%
  • Packaging ink revenue5 % increase on a local-currency basis
  • Publication ink revenue4 % increase on a local-currency basis
  • Jet ink revenue8 % increase
  • Epoxy resin revenue23 % increase
  • Industrial tape revenue14 % increase
  • UV-curable resin revenue26 % increase
Segment results
Packaging & Graphics
Net Sales
¥3,072 100 million+14.3%
Operating profit
¥217 100 million+62.6%
Color & Display
Net Sales
¥1,425 100 million+8.6%
Operating profit
¥120 100 million+2.1%
Functional Products
Net Sales
¥1,616 100 million+13.0%
Operating profit
¥213 100 million+96.4%
Chemtronics Business Headquarters
Net Sales
¥376 100 million+25.5%
Operating profit
¥81 100 million+150.0%
Medium-term management plan targets
References the segment ROIC targets for fiscal 2030 under DIC Vision 2030 Phase 2. The numerical targets themselves are not disclosed
Financial targets
ROIC
Actual results4.4 % fiscal 2025
Outlook6.4 % fiscal 2025
ROE
Actual results7.4 % fiscal 2025
Outlook10.1 % fiscal 2025
Net debt-to-equity ratio
Actual results0.83 times fiscal 2025
Outlook0.8 times fiscal 2025
Equity ratio
Actual results37 % fiscal 2025
Year-end results38.3 % fiscal 2025
Capital expenditures
¥534 100 million full-year capital expenditures and investments and loans
Annual Dividend
Annual
¥150 per share
Interim
¥70 per share
End of period
¥80 per share
Payout ratio
not disclosed (total payout ratio: 50.0%)
Acquisition of treasury shares
Amount
¥100 100 million maximum
PeriodScheduled to begin on 12 August 2026
Contents of this document
ItemDetails
Document typeFinancial results presentation
Fiscal Period CoveredSecond quarter of the fiscal year ending December 2026 (first half)
Net Sales¥5,930 100 million (YoY +13.3%)
Operating profit¥518 100 million (YoY +92.2%)
Ordinary income¥523 100 million (YoY +157.7%)
Net income¥372 100 million (interim net income attributable to owners of the parent) (YoY +184.1%)
Operating profit margin8.7 %
Selling, general and administrative expenses¥934 100 million (expense)
Results for the three months of the current quarterNet Sales ¥3,105 100 million / Operating profit ¥273 100 million
Full-year earnings forecastNet Sales ¥11,400 100 million / Operating profit ¥780 100 million / Ordinary income ¥730 100 million / Profit attributable to owners of the parent ¥480 100 million / EBITDA ¥1,300 100 million / Capital Expenditure and Investments ¥534 100 million
Segment resultsPackaging & Graphics Net Sales ¥3,072 100 million (YoY +14.3%) / Operating profit ¥217 100 million (YoY +62.6%) / Color & Display Net Sales ¥1,425 100 million (YoY +8.6%) / Operating profit ¥120 100 million (YoY +2.1%) / Functional Products Net Sales ¥1,616 100 million (YoY +13.0%) / Operating profit ¥213 100 million (YoY +96.4%) / Chemtronics Business Headquarters Net Sales ¥376 100 million (YoY +25.5%) / Operating profit ¥81 100 million (YoY +150.0%)
Breakdown of Factors Affecting the ChangeStrong performance by high-value-added products, including Chemtronics products, Price revisions progressed at a rapid pace, Positive foreign exchange translation impact on overseas businesses from the weaker yen, The negative impact of surging raw material prices gradually emerged, One-time gain (reversal of a provision related to repairs)
Key KPIsIndicator name Chemtronics business revenue / Value ¥376 100 million / Year on year against the same period last year ¥25.5 100 million, Indicator name Chemtronics business operating profit / Value ¥81 100 million / Year on year against the same period last year ¥150 100 million, Indicator name Packaging ink revenue / Value 5 % increase (on a local-currency basis) / Year on year against the same period last year Not disclosed, Indicator name Publication ink revenue / Value 4 % increase (on a local-currency basis) / Year on year against the same period last year Not disclosed, Indicator name Jet ink revenue / Value 8 % increase / Year on year against the same period last year Not disclosed, Indicator name Epoxy resin revenue / Value 23 % increase / Year on year against the same period last year Not disclosed, Indicator name Industrial tape revenue / Value 14 % increase / Year on year against the same period last year Not disclosed, Indicator name UV-curable resin revenue / Value 26 % increase / Year on year against the same period last year Not disclosed
Assumptions Underlying the Business OutlookAverage USD/JPY exchange rate ¥150.00 / Average EUR/JPY exchange rate ¥175.00 / Crude oil (WTI) US$75.00 per barrel / Domestic naphtha ¥85,500/kl
Medium-term management plan targetsReferences the segment ROIC targets for fiscal 2030 under DIC Vision 2030 Phase 2. The numerical targets themselves are not disclosed
Financial targetsROIC Actual results 4.4 % (fiscal 2025) / Outlook 6.4 % (fiscal 2025) / ROE Actual results 7.4 % (fiscal 2025) / Outlook 10.1 % (fiscal 2025) / Net debt-to-equity ratio Actual results 0.83 times (fiscal 2025) / Outlook 0.8 times (fiscal 2025) / Equity ratio Actual results 37 % (fiscal 2025) / Year-end results 38.3 % (fiscal 2025)
Annual DividendAnnual ¥150 per share / Interim ¥70 per share / End of period ¥80 per share
Payout rationot disclosed (total payout ratio: 50.0%)
Acquisition of treasury sharesAmount ¥100 100 million (maximum) / Period Scheduled to begin on 12 August 2026 / Number of Shares Not disclosed
Capital expenditures¥534 100 million (full-year capital expenditures and investments and loans)
New initiativesConstruction of a new epoxy resin plant for semiconductor applications, Establishment in Switzerland of an activity base responsible for strategic investment in and creation of collaborations with startups in the deep-tech sector, Execution of an additional ¥10.0 billion share buyback
Items this document does not state (10)
Gross Profit MarginProgress against full-year forecastSelf-assessment against the planUnit price and quantity metricsNumber of stores and locationsNumber of employeesRisk amount incorporated into the outlookOrders received and order backlogMarket Size / ShareKey points of the Q&A

These are items the company does not state in this document. We do not leave them blank, nor fill them in from other sources or by inference.

The reasons the company gives

The company's own explanation, not something inferred from the numbers.

Higher revenue in the Chemtronics business, driven by robust semiconductor demand, expanded sales of high-value-added products, price revisions in response to surging raw material prices, cost reductions and the positive foreign exchange translation impact of the weaker yen all contributed. The full-year outlook incorporates risks including the reversal of customer inventory build-ups and the impact of surging raw material prices.

How to read this page

This is not the documentKomori reads the disclosure the company filed and writes this summary. Figures are as stated by the company and are not audited.
Weight is not a verdictIt measures how much this changes what the company had already told the market. It is not a view on the shares.
Corrections happenIf the company reissues this disclosure, the page is rebuilt from the corrected version and the revision number moves up.
Financial Results Briefing Materials for the Second Quarter of the Fiscal Year Ending December 2026 | DIC Corporation (4631) timely disclosure | Komori