Komori
Presentation materials for financial results4631DIC CorporationMaterials and Chemicals

Financial Results Briefing Materials for the First Quarter of the Fiscal Year Ending December 2026

In the first quarter of the fiscal year ending December 2026, sales of high-value-added products increased against a backdrop of semiconductor demand, and revenue, operating profit, and profit attributable to owners of the parent exceeded the same period of the previous year. As the impact of the situation in the Middle East cannot be reasonably quantified, the forecasts for the first half and full year, as well as the annual dividend plan of ¥140, were left unchanged.

Worth reading
59In focus
0–100. This measures how worthwhile something is to read, not how good or bad the company is.
Direction
Improvement
Direction inferred from the company’s description.
Scale
115
¥100 million (year-on-year increase in operating profit)
Wording
Conditional
How definitive the wording is.

Contents of this document

Presentation materials for financial resultsFirst quarter of the fiscal year ending December 202610 items taken from the company’s own explanation
Financial Results Figures (The key points of this material are explained below)
Net Sales2,825 Hundreds of millions of yen+7.8%
Operating profit245 Hundreds of millions of yen+87.7%
Ordinary income239 Hundreds of millions of yen+141.4%
Net income¥192 100 million +214.7%quarterly net income attributable to owners of the parent
Selling, general and administrative expenses¥449 100 million selling, general and administrative expenses
Operating profit margin8.7%, up from 5.0% in the same period of the previous year
Results for the three months of the current quarter
Net Sales¥282.5 billion
Operating profit¥24.5 billion
Ordinary income¥23.9 billion
Profit attributable to owners of parent for the quarter¥19.2 billion
Full-year earnings forecast
Net Sales¥1.1 trillion
Operating profit¥56 billion
Ordinary income¥48.0 billion
Profit attributable to owners of the parent¥33 billion
EBITDA¥111.0 billion
Capital Expenditure and Investments¥53.4 billion
Progress against full-year forecast 通期の予想に対して、いまどこまで進んだかの割合です。
Operating profit33% (excluding one-time gains)
What the company explained in this material
Self-assessment against the planThe company's self-assessment against its own plan.
The actual net debt-to-equity ratio has remained in line with the planned level.
Breakdown of Factors Affecting the ChangeReasons cited by the Company for the change in the figures.
  • Strong shipments of high-value-added products, mainly in Chemtronics
  • Foreign-exchange translation impact on the European business due to the stronger euro and weaker yen
  • Maintenance of selling prices in the European and U.S. ink businesses
  • Reversal of repair-related liabilities at an overseas pigment manufacturing site¥5.8 billion
  • Gain on sale of artwork¥2.8 billion
Assumptions Underlying the Business OutlookThe assumptions used by the company in preparing its forecast.
Average USD/JPY rate¥150.00
Average EUR/JPY rate¥168.00 per EUR
Crude oil (WTI)USD 65.00/barrel
Domestic naphtha¥65,000/kl
New initiatives
  • Strategic partnership with Swiss company Emerald to create a physical AI business
  • Investment in quinacridone production in Newport, Delaware, U.S.
  • Expand the global rollout of SHIOLESS® environmentally friendly inks
  • Change in the method of compiling segment information
Key KPIsA metric the company considers important as a management benchmark.
  • Net debt-to-equity ratio0.81 times
  • Equity ratio37.0 %
  • Full-year ROIC forecast4.7 %
  • Full-year ROE forecast7.1 %
  • EBITDA393 Hundreds of millions of yen
    Year on year against the same period last year+61.0%
Segment results
  • Packaging & Graphics
    Net Sales¥145.2 billion, up 8.4% year on year
    Operating profit¥8.3 billion, up 25.0% year on year
  • Color & Display
    Net Sales¥69.7 billion, up 1.5% year on year (down 5.1% on a local-currency basis)
    Operating profit¥8.5 billion, 3.0 times the year-earlier level
  • Functional Products
    Net Sales¥76.7 billion, up 8.4% year on year
    Operating profit¥9.1 billion, up 75.3% year on year
  • Chemtronics Business Headquarters
    Net Sales¥18.0 billion, up 24.1% year on year
    Operating profit¥3.6 billion, 2.5 times the year-earlier level
Medium-term management plan targets
DIC Vision 2030ROE of 10% or higher in FY2030
Segment ROIC targetsFY2030 target values set (specific figures Not disclosed)
Financial targets
Net debt-to-equity ratio0.80x (full-year forecast)
ROIC4.7% (full-year forecast)
ROE7.1% (full-year forecast)
Equity ratio37.0% (actual at the end of March)
Capital expenditures
¥534 100 million capital expenditures, investments and loans
Annual Dividend
¥140/share (¥70 interim, ¥70 year-end)
Contents of this document
ItemDetails
Document typePresentation materials for financial results
Fiscal Period CoveredFirst quarter of the fiscal year ending December 2026
Net Sales2,825 Hundreds of millions of yen (YoY +7.8%)
Operating profit245 Hundreds of millions of yen (YoY +87.7%)
Ordinary income239 Hundreds of millions of yen (YoY +141.4%)
Net income¥192 100 million (quarterly net income attributable to owners of the parent) (YoY +214.7%)
Operating profit margin8.7%, up from 5.0% in the same period of the previous year
Selling, general and administrative expenses¥449 100 million (selling, general and administrative expenses)
Results for the three months of the current quarterNet Sales ¥282.5 billion / Operating profit ¥24.5 billion / Ordinary income ¥23.9 billion / Profit attributable to owners of parent for the quarter ¥19.2 billion
Full-year earnings forecastNet Sales ¥1.1 trillion / Operating profit ¥56 billion / Ordinary income ¥48.0 billion / Profit attributable to owners of the parent ¥33 billion / EBITDA ¥111.0 billion / Capital Expenditure and Investments ¥53.4 billion
Progress against full-year forecastOperating profit 33% (excluding one-time gains)
Self-assessment against the planThe actual net debt-to-equity ratio has remained in line with the planned level.
Segment resultsSegment Packaging & Graphics / Net Sales ¥145.2 billion, up 8.4% year on year / Operating profit ¥8.3 billion, up 25.0% year on year, Segment Color & Display / Net Sales ¥69.7 billion, up 1.5% year on year (down 5.1% on a local-currency basis) / Operating profit ¥8.5 billion, 3.0 times the year-earlier level, Segment Functional Products / Net Sales ¥76.7 billion, up 8.4% year on year / Operating profit ¥9.1 billion, up 75.3% year on year, Segment Chemtronics Business Headquarters / Net Sales ¥18.0 billion, up 24.1% year on year / Operating profit ¥3.6 billion, 2.5 times the year-earlier level
Breakdown of Factors Affecting the ChangeFactors Strong shipments of high-value-added products, mainly in Chemtronics / Amount Not disclosed, Factors Foreign-exchange translation impact on the European business due to the stronger euro and weaker yen / Amount Not disclosed, Factors Maintenance of selling prices in the European and U.S. ink businesses / Amount Not disclosed, Factors Reversal of repair-related liabilities at an overseas pigment manufacturing site / Amount ¥5.8 billion, Factors Gain on sale of artwork / Amount ¥2.8 billion
Key KPIsIndicator name Net debt-to-equity ratio / Value 0.81 times / Year on year against the same period last year Not disclosed, Indicator name Equity ratio / Value 37.0 % / Year on year against the same period last year Not disclosed, Indicator name Full-year ROIC forecast / Value 4.7 % / Year on year against the same period last year Not disclosed, Indicator name Full-year ROE forecast / Value 7.1 % / Year on year against the same period last year Not disclosed, Indicator name EBITDA / Value 393 Hundreds of millions of yen / Year on year against the same period last year +61.0%
Assumptions Underlying the Business OutlookAverage USD/JPY rate ¥150.00 / Average EUR/JPY rate ¥168.00 per EUR / Crude oil (WTI) USD 65.00/barrel / Domestic naphtha ¥65,000/kl
Medium-term management plan targetsDIC Vision 2030 ROE of 10% or higher in FY2030 / Segment ROIC targets FY2030 target values set (specific figures Not disclosed)
Financial targetsNet debt-to-equity ratio 0.80x (full-year forecast) / ROIC 4.7% (full-year forecast) / ROE 7.1% (full-year forecast) / Equity ratio 37.0% (actual at the end of March)
Annual Dividend¥140/share (¥70 interim, ¥70 year-end)
Capital expenditures¥534 100 million (capital expenditures, investments and loans)
New initiativesStrategic partnership with Swiss company Emerald to create a physical AI business, Investment in quinacridone production in Newport, Delaware, U.S., Expand the global rollout of SHIOLESS® environmentally friendly inks, Change in the method of compiling segment information
Items this document does not state (10)
Gross Profit MarginUnit price and quantity metricsNumber of stores and locationsNumber of employeesRisk amount incorporated into the outlookPayout ratioAcquisition of treasury sharesOrders received and order backlogMarket Size / ShareKey points of the Q&A

These are items the company does not state in this document. We do not leave them blank, nor fill them in from other sources or by inference.

The reasons the company gives

The company's own explanation, not something inferred from the numbers.

Higher revenue in the Chemtronics business, driven by expanding semiconductor demand, increased shipments and improved margins for high-value-added products, and the foreign-exchange translation impact of the weaker yen contributed to higher revenue and profit. Profit was also boosted by the reversal of ¥5.8 billion in prior-period repair-related liabilities at an overseas pigment manufacturing site, a ¥2.8 billion gain on the sale of artwork, and a decrease in foreign-exchange losses associated with the depreciation of emerging-market currencies in the previous year.

How to read this page

This is not the documentKomori reads the disclosure the company filed and writes this summary. Figures are as stated by the company and are not audited.
Weight is not a verdictIt measures how much this changes what the company had already told the market. It is not a view on the shares.
Corrections happenIf the company reissues this disclosure, the page is rebuilt from the corrected version and the revision number moves up.
Financial Results Briefing Materials for the First Quarter of the Fiscal Year Ending December 2026 | DIC Corporation (4631) timely disclosure | Komori