Komori
Financial results presentation9610WILSON LEARNING WORLDWIDE INC.Information and Communications, Services and Others

Supplementary Explanatory Material for the First Quarter Financial Results for the Fiscal Year Ending March 2027 (Video)

In the first quarter of the fiscal year ending March 2027, revenue and profit fell below the same period of the previous year, and the operating loss widened, due to the timing shift in recognizing projects in North America and upfront hiring. Meanwhile, selling, general and administrative expenses have been reduced, and the company is pursuing new business development, upselling, and collaboration with Thunderbird, among other initiatives, to achieve an operating profit for the full year.

Worth reading
36Immaterial
0–100. This measures how worthwhile something is to read, not how good or bad the company is.
Direction
Deterioration
Direction inferred from the company’s description.
Scale
-22
¥ millions (year-on-year change in operating income)
Wording
Avoiding a definitive answer
How definitive the wording is.

Contents of this document

Financial results presentationFirst quarter of the fiscal year ending March 20278 items taken from the company’s own explanation
Financial Results Figures (The key points of this material are explained below)
Net Sales¥369 million-15.9%
Operating profit¥-128 million-20.3%
Ordinary income¥-127 million-18.5%
Net income¥-129 million-19.7%
Gross Profit Margin67.6 %
Selling, general and administrative expenses¥377 million
Results for the three months of the current quarterRevenue was ¥369 million, operating loss was ¥128 million, ordinary loss was ¥127 million, and net loss attributable to owners of the parent was ¥129 million.
Full-year earnings forecast
Operating profitOperating profitability planned (numerical figure Not disclosed)
What the company explained in this material
Breakdown of Factors Affecting the ChangeReasons cited by the Company for the change in the figures.
  • Decrease in revenue¥-70 million
  • Decrease in cost of sales¥-15 million
  • Decrease in gross profit¥-55 million
  • Decrease in selling, general and administrative expenses¥-34 million
  • Timing shift in North American projects-40 approximately million yen
New initiatives
  • Increasing sales staff in North America and India
  • Joint development program with Thunderbird and launch of new services
  • Developing new sales channels through partnerships with sales partners
  • Closure of inactive overseas subsidiaries
  • Improving operational efficiency through company-wide digital transformation
  • Review sales KPIs and monitor them weekly
  • Refine the funding plan and strengthen execution management
  • Strengthen execution and oversight functions under the new executive structure
Key KPIsA metric the company considers important as a management benchmark.
  • Markets served40+
  • Languages supported30+
  • Years since founding60+
Segment results
  • Domestic
    Net Sales¥85 million (YoY -27.9%)
    Profit/Loss¥-61 million
  • North America
    Net Sales¥256 million (YoY -12.3%)
    Profit/Loss¥-43 million
Medium-term management plan targets
  • TargetRevenue of ¥5 billion and operating profit of ¥500 million
    Target fiscal yearFiscal year ending March 2028 (target to be achieved over 3 years)
  • Target¥10 billion market capitalization
    Target fiscal yearFiscal year ending March 2029 onward, to be achieved at an early stage
Orders received and order backlog
The company states that it has won a project from a major general trading company, but the amounts of orders received and order backlog are Not disclosed
Number of stores and locations
Overseas locations are mentioned, but the number at period-end and the number of openings and closures during the period are Not disclosed
Number of employees
Additional hiring and recruitment are mentioned, but the number of employees and recruitment plan figures are Not disclosed
Contents of this document
ItemDetails
Document typeFinancial results presentation
Fiscal Period CoveredFirst quarter of the fiscal year ending March 2027
Net Sales¥369 million (YoY -15.9%)
Operating profit¥-128 million (YoY -20.3%)
Ordinary income¥-127 million (YoY -18.5%)
Net income¥-129 million (YoY -19.7%)
Gross Profit Margin67.6 %
Selling, general and administrative expenses¥377 million
Results for the three months of the current quarterRevenue was ¥369 million, operating loss was ¥128 million, ordinary loss was ¥127 million, and net loss attributable to owners of the parent was ¥129 million.
Full-year earnings forecastOperating profit Operating profitability planned (numerical figure Not disclosed) / Other Not disclosed
Segment resultsSegment Domestic / Net Sales ¥85 million (YoY -27.9%) / Profit/Loss ¥-61 million, Segment North America / Net Sales ¥256 million (YoY -12.3%) / Profit/Loss ¥-43 million
Breakdown of Factors Affecting the ChangeDecrease in revenue ¥-70 million, Decrease in cost of sales ¥-15 million, Decrease in gross profit ¥-55 million, Decrease in selling, general and administrative expenses ¥-34 million, Timing shift in North American projects -40 approximately million yen
Key KPIsIndicator name Markets served / Value 40+ / Year on year against the same period last year Not disclosed, Indicator name Languages supported / Value 30+ / Year on year against the same period last year Not disclosed, Indicator name Years since founding / Value 60+ / Year on year against the same period last year Not disclosed
Number of stores and locationsOverseas locations are mentioned, but the number at period-end and the number of openings and closures during the period are Not disclosed
Number of employeesAdditional hiring and recruitment are mentioned, but the number of employees and recruitment plan figures are Not disclosed
Medium-term management plan targetsTarget Revenue of ¥5 billion and operating profit of ¥500 million / Target fiscal year Fiscal year ending March 2028 (target to be achieved over 3 years), Target ¥10 billion market capitalization / Target fiscal year Fiscal year ending March 2029 onward, to be achieved at an early stage
Orders received and order backlogThe company states that it has won a project from a major general trading company, but the amounts of orders received and order backlog are Not disclosed
New initiativesIncreasing sales staff in North America and India, Joint development program with Thunderbird and launch of new services, Developing new sales channels through partnerships with sales partners, Closure of inactive overseas subsidiaries, Improving operational efficiency through company-wide digital transformation, Review sales KPIs and monitor them weekly, Refine the funding plan and strengthen execution management, Strengthen execution and oversight functions under the new executive structure
Items this document does not state (13)
Operating profit marginProgress against full-year forecastSelf-assessment against the planUnit price and quantity metricsAssumptions Underlying the Business OutlookRisk amount incorporated into the outlookFinancial targetsAnnual DividendPayout ratioAcquisition of treasury sharesCapital expendituresMarket Size / ShareKey points of the Q&A

These are items the company does not state in this document. We do not leave them blank, nor fill them in from other sources or by inference.

The reasons the company gives

The company's own explanation, not something inferred from the numbers.

The main factors behind the decline in profit were a timing shift of approximately ¥40 million in a North American segment project and upfront investments, including additional hiring. In Japan, although revenue declined following the completion of existing projects, the loss improved due to higher gross margins.

How to read this page

This is not the documentKomori reads the disclosure the company filed and writes this summary. Figures are as stated by the company and are not audited.
Weight is not a verdictIt measures how much this changes what the company had already told the market. It is not a view on the shares.
Corrections happenIf the company reissues this disclosure, the page is rebuilt from the corrected version and the revision number moves up.
Supplementary Explanatory Material for the First Quarter Financial Results for the Fiscal Year Ending March 2027 (Video) | WILSON LEARNING WORLDWIDE INC. (9610) timely disclosure | Komori