Komori
Earnings presentation8233Takashimaya Company,LimitedRetail

Supplementary Financial Results Materials for the Fiscal Year Ending February 2026

For the fiscal year ended February 2026, revenue declined and operating profit decreased. The Company recorded a net loss attributable to owners of the parent due to extraordinary losses, including a loss on the repurchase and cancellation of convertible bonds. For the fiscal year ending February 2027, the Company expects higher revenue and operating profit, and a return to profitability.

Worth reading
44Recurring
0–100. This measures how worthwhile something is to read, not how good or bad the company is.
Direction
Mixed performance
Direction inferred from the company’s description.
Scale
-8194
Millions of yen (net loss attributable to owners of the parent)
Wording
Definitive
How definitive the wording is.

Contents of this document

Supplementary materials to the earnings reportFiscal year ended February 20268 items taken from the company’s own explanation
Financial Results Figures (The key points of this material are explained below)
Net Sales¥401,958 million-2.6%
Operating profit¥53,516 million-6.9%
Ordinary income¥56,879 million-5.8%
Net income¥-8,194 million
Selling, general and administrative expenses¥246,076 million
Gross Profit Margin
Rate52.04%
Year-on-year change (points)0.28 percentage points
Operating profit margin
Rate13.3%
Year-on-year change (points)△0.6 percentage points
Full-year earnings forecast
Operating revenue
¥503,000 million
Net Sales
¥410,800 million
Operating profit
¥57,500 million
Ordinary income
¥57,000 million
Net income
¥38,000 million
What the company explained in this material
Breakdown of Factors Affecting the ChangeReasons cited by the Company for the change in the figures.
Extraordinary income_Gain on sale of non-current assets
¥12,606 million
Extraordinary losses_Loss on disposal of non-current assets
¥4,189 million
Extraordinary losses_Impairment losses
¥2,630 million
Extraordinary losses_Store closure losses
¥1,033 million
Extraordinary losses_Loss on redemption of convertible bonds
¥72,065 million
New initiatives
  • Capital expenditures of ¥61,675 million in the next fiscal year for sales floor renovations, facility and equipment upgrades, information equipment and other items
  • Renovation investment at Tamagawa Takashimaya S・C
  • Addition of TAKASHIMAYA INTERIOR LIMITED, ㈱ソアズロック and ㈱髙島屋クレイキャピタル to the scope of consolidation
  • Cessation of operations at the Sakai store
Key KPIsA metric the company considers important as a management benchmark.
  • Consolidated operating revenue¥492,370 million
    Year on year against the same period last year-1.2%
  • Total sales, including domestic subsidiaries¥850,173 million
    Year on year against the same period last year-1.1%
  • Store visitors (total, including domestic subsidiaries)
    Year on year against the same period last year+0.5%
  • Employees at period-end6,518 people
    Year on year against the same period last year-0.9%
  • Consolidated capital expenditures¥43,623 million
    Year on year against the same period last year+48.2%
Unit price and quantity metricsThese figures show sales broken down by price and volume.
  • Sales floor area372,740 ㎡
  • Sales per square meter¥2,191 thousand
  • Sales per employee¥143,770 thousand
  • Year-on-year change in store visitors (total, including domestic subsidiaries)0.5 %
Financial targets
ROE
Actual results△1.8%
Next-year forecast8.3%
ROA
Actual results4.3%
Next-year forecast4.2%
Debt-to-equity ratio
Actual results0.63 times
Next-year forecast0.69x
Equity ratio
Actual results33.4%
Next-year forecast33.9%
ROIC
Actual results5.7%
Next-year forecast5.5%
Number of stores and locations
The total number of stores and the number of store openings and closures during the period are Not disclosed. The Sakai store ceased operations on 7 January 2026.
Number of employees
Number of Employees6,518 people
Change during the period-56 people
Capital expenditures
¥43,623 million
Contents of this document
ItemDetails
Document typeSupplementary materials to the earnings report
Fiscal Period CoveredFiscal year ended February 2026
Net Sales¥401,958 million (YoY -2.6%)
Operating profit¥53,516 million (YoY -6.9%)
Ordinary income¥56,879 million (YoY -5.8%)
Net income¥-8,194 million
Gross Profit MarginRate 52.04% / Year-on-year change (points) 0.28 percentage points
Operating profit marginRate 13.3% / Year-on-year change (points) △0.6 percentage points
Selling, general and administrative expenses¥246,076 million
Full-year earnings forecastOperating revenue ¥503,000 million / Net Sales ¥410,800 million / Operating profit ¥57,500 million / Ordinary income ¥57,000 million / Net income ¥38,000 million
Breakdown of Factors Affecting the ChangeExtraordinary income_Gain on sale of non-current assets ¥12,606 million / Extraordinary losses_Loss on disposal of non-current assets ¥4,189 million / Extraordinary losses_Impairment losses ¥2,630 million / Extraordinary losses_Store closure losses ¥1,033 million / Extraordinary losses_Loss on redemption of convertible bonds ¥72,065 million
Key KPIsIndicator name Consolidated operating revenue / Value ¥492,370 million / Year on year against the same period last year ¥-1.2 million, Indicator name Total sales, including domestic subsidiaries / Value ¥850,173 million / Year on year against the same period last year ¥-1.1 million, Indicator name Store visitors (total, including domestic subsidiaries) / Value Not disclosed / Year on year against the same period last year 0.5 Year-on-year change rate 0.5%, Indicator name Employees at period-end / Value 6,518 people / Year on year against the same period last year -0.9 people, Indicator name Consolidated capital expenditures / Value ¥43,623 million / Year on year against the same period last year ¥48.2 million
Unit price and quantity metricsIndicator name Sales floor area / Value 372,740 ㎡, Indicator name Sales per square meter / Value ¥2,191 thousand, Indicator name Sales per employee / Value ¥143,770 thousand, Indicator name Year-on-year change in store visitors (total, including domestic subsidiaries) / Value 0.5 %
Number of stores and locationsThe total number of stores and the number of store openings and closures during the period are Not disclosed. The Sakai store ceased operations on 7 January 2026.
Number of employeesNumber of Employees 6,518 people / Change during the period -56 people / Hiring plan Not disclosed
Financial targetsROE Actual results △1.8% / Next-year forecast 8.3% / ROA Actual results 4.3% / Next-year forecast 4.2% / Debt-to-equity ratio Actual results 0.63 times / Next-year forecast 0.69x / Equity ratio Actual results 33.4% / Next-year forecast 33.9% / ROIC Actual results 5.7% / Next-year forecast 5.5%
Capital expenditures¥43,623 million
New initiativesCapital expenditures of ¥61,675 million in the next fiscal year for sales floor renovations, facility and equipment upgrades, information equipment and other items, Renovation investment at Tamagawa Takashimaya S・C, Addition of TAKASHIMAYA INTERIOR LIMITED, ㈱ソアズロック and ㈱髙島屋クレイキャピタル to the scope of consolidation, Cessation of operations at the Sakai store
Items this document does not state (13)
Results for the three months of the current quarterProgress against full-year forecastSelf-assessment against the planSegment resultsAssumptions Underlying the Business OutlookRisk amount incorporated into the outlookMedium-term management plan targetsAnnual DividendPayout ratioAcquisition of treasury sharesOrders received and order backlogMarket Size / ShareKey points of the Q&A

These are items the company does not state in this document. We do not leave them blank, nor fill them in from other sources or by inference.

The reasons the company gives

The company's own explanation, not something inferred from the numbers.

During the fiscal year, the Company recorded extraordinary losses, including a ¥72,065 million loss on the repurchase and cancellation of convertible bonds, losses on the disposal of non-current assets, impairment losses, and store closure losses. Store closure losses included the closure of the Sakai store and other locations, while impairment losses included Takashimaya Kashiwa and Okayama Takashimaya, among others.

How to read this page

This is not the documentKomori reads the disclosure the company filed and writes this summary. Figures are as stated by the company and are not audited.
Weight is not a verdictIt measures how much this changes what the company had already told the market. It is not a view on the shares.
Corrections happenIf the company reissues this disclosure, the page is rebuilt from the corrected version and the revision number moves up.
Supplementary Financial Results Materials for the Fiscal Year Ending February 2026 | Takashimaya Company,Limited (8233) timely disclosure | Komori