Komori
Earnings8194LIFE CORPORATIONRetail

Summary of Financial Results for the First Quarter of the Fiscal Year Ending February 2027 [Japanese GAAP] (Consolidated)

In the first quarter, operating revenue increased 3.2% year on year, while operating income decreased 6.9%. Revenue grew on new store openings and product initiatives, but the increase was not enough to absorb higher store-opening costs, personnel expenses and other costs.

Worth reading
45Recurring
0–100. This measures how worthwhile something is to read, not how good or bad the company is.
Direction
Mixed performance
Direction inferred from the company’s description.
Scale
-6.9
% (year-on-year change in operating profit)
Wording
Conditional
How definitive the wording is.

Results for this period

First quarter1 March 2026–31 May 2026ConsolidatedJapanese GAAP
Net Sales215,015¥ millionYear on year +3.2%Progress 23.3%
Operating profit7,230¥ millionYear on year -6.9%Progress 26.8%
Ordinary income7,484¥ millionYear on year -6.1%Progress 26.7%
Net income attributable to owners of the parent5,081¥ millionYear on year -9.0%Progress 26.7%

The width of the band at each stage is based on revenue. The narrower it becomes toward the bottom, the smaller the proportion of revenue that remains as profit. The dotted outline is the full-year forecast and the band inside it is the result for this period. The progress rate is the result divided by the forecast.

Net income per share¥58.73
Financial position at period-end
Total assets337,467¥ million
of which net assets 157,606 ¥ millionEquity ratio 46.7%vs. prior year-end +0.3pt

塗りつぶした部分が自己資本比率です。総資産のうち、返済のいらない自前の資金がどれだけかを表します。The thin vertical line indicates the level at the end of the previous fiscal year.

Cash and cash equivalents at end of period¥11,138 million
Segment revenue
Retail Business223,18299.7%+3.2%
Other7440.3%+2.9%
Segment profit
Retail Business7,34498.1%-6.5%
Other1391.9%+22.7%
Outlook and shareholder returns
Full-year earnings forecast
Net Sales¥922,500 million (YoY +4.7%)
Operating profit¥27,000 million (YoY +3.8%)
Ordinary income¥28,000 million (YoY +3.4%)
Net income¥19,000 million (YoY +0.9%)
Annual Dividend Forecast¥65.5 → ¥70(6.9%)
Factors Behind Changes in Business Performance

Operating revenue increased due to new store openings, renovations of existing stores, the expansion of the online supermarket business, strengthened private-label products, and product initiatives focused on freshness and taste. Operating income decreased because the increase in property-related expenses and personnel expenses associated with new store openings could not be absorbed.

Disclosure regarding the going concern assumption

Not applicable.

Change in accounting policy
基準改正に伴う変更 Noそれ以外の変更 No見積りの変更 No修正再表示 No
Changes in the scope of consolidationNew 0 / Excluded 0 / Company name None
Material subsequent eventsNot applicable.
Impairment loss¥3 million
Breakdown of extraordinary income (loss)Extraordinary income None / Extraordinary loss Impairment Losses ¥3 million, Loss on Disposal of Fixed Assets ¥0 million
Depreciation and amortization¥4,153 million
Availability of Supplementary Financial Results MaterialsYes
Availability of Financial Results BriefingWhether applicable No / Subject person Not disclosed
Issued Shares at Period-End90,501,600 Shares
Treasury Shares at Period-End3,983,976 Shares
Results for this period
ItemDetails
Fiscal Period ClassificationFirst quarter
Accounting standardsJapanese GAAP
Consolidated / non-consolidatedConsolidated
Period Covered1 March 2026–31 May 2026
Net Sales¥215,015 million (YoY +3.2%)
Operating profit¥7,230 million (YoY -6.9%)
Ordinary income¥7,484 million (YoY -6.1%)
Profit attributable to owners of the parent¥5,081 million (YoY -9.0%)
Net income per share¥58.73
Equity ratioEnd of the current fiscal period 46.7 / End of previous period 46.4
Total assets¥337,467 million
Net assets¥157,606 million
Cash and cash equivalents at end of period¥11,138 million
Full-year earnings forecastNet Sales ¥922,500 million (YoY +4.7%) / Operating profit ¥27,000 million (YoY +3.8%) / Ordinary income ¥28,000 million (YoY +3.4%) / Net income ¥19,000 million (YoY +0.9%)
Annual Dividend Forecast¥65.5 → ¥70(6.9%)
Segment revenueRetail Business ¥223,182 million (YoY +3.2%) / Other ¥744 million (YoY +2.9%)
Segment profitRetail Business ¥7,344 million (YoY -6.5%) / Other ¥139 million (YoY +22.7%)
Depreciation and amortization¥4,153 million
Impairment loss¥3 million
Breakdown of extraordinary income (loss)Extraordinary income None / Extraordinary loss Impairment Losses ¥3 million, Loss on Disposal of Fixed Assets ¥0 million
Disclosure regarding the going concern assumptionNot applicable.
Change in accounting policyChanges due to revisions to standards No / Other changes No / Change in accounting estimate No / Restatement No
Changes in the scope of consolidationNew 0 / Excluded 0 / Company name None
Material subsequent eventsNot applicable.
Availability of Supplementary Financial Results MaterialsYes
Availability of Financial Results BriefingWhether applicable No / Subject person Not disclosed
Issued Shares at Period-End90,501,600 Shares
Treasury Shares at Period-End3,983,976 Shares
Factors Behind Changes in Business PerformanceOperating revenue increased due to new store openings, renovations of existing stores, the expansion of the online supermarket business, strengthened private-label products, and product initiatives focused on freshness and taste. Operating income decreased because the increase in property-related expenses and personnel expenses associated with new store openings could not be absorbed.
Items this document does not state (9)
Operating MarginCash flows from operating activitiesCash flows from investing activitiesCash flows from financing activitiesRevision to Earnings ForecastPayout ratioShareholder Return PolicyRegional salesOrders received and order backlog

These are items the company does not state in this document. We do not leave them blank, nor fill them in from other sources or by inference.

The reasons the company gives

The company's own explanation, not something inferred from the numbers.

Property-related expenses, including rent associated with new store openings, and personnel expenses increased due to investment in people and improved employee treatment. These increases could not be fully absorbed by the effects of kaizen activities and the optimization of property-related expenses.

How to read this page

This is not the documentKomori reads the disclosure the company filed and writes this summary. Figures are as stated by the company and are not audited.
Weight is not a verdictIt measures how much this changes what the company had already told the market. It is not a view on the shares.
Corrections happenIf the company reissues this disclosure, the page is rebuilt from the corrected version and the revision number moves up.
Summary of Financial Results for the First Quarter of the Fiscal Year Ending February 2027 [Japanese GAAP] (Consolidated) | LIFE CORPORATION (8194) timely disclosure | Komori