Komori
Treasury Shares7751CANON INC.Electrical Equipment and Precision Instruments

Notice Regarding the Purchase of Treasury Shares Through an Off-Auction Purchase (ToSTNeT-3)

As part of the resolution to acquire treasury shares dated 29 January 2026, the company decided to conduct an acquisition through ToSTNeT-3 on 20 August 2026, for up to 5,040,000 shares and up to ¥22,554,000,000. The acquisition will be carried out if sell orders reach the planned number of shares, and all or part of the shares may not be acquired.

Worth reading
70In focus
0–100. This measures how worthwhile something is to read, not how good or bad the company is.
Direction
Neutral
Direction inferred from the company’s description.
Scale
5040000000
Yen (maximum aggregate acquisition cost)
Wording
Conditional
How definitive the wording is.

Progress against acquisition limit

Off-auction purchase (ToSTNeT-3)

Resolved 29 January 2026 / Acquisition period 30 January 2026–29 January 2027

71.3%
Cumulative utilization rate
LimitAmount 84.5%15,503,300 株 remaining
Number of SharesUp to 54,000,000 shares (maximum under the resolution). The specific acquisition covered by this announcement is limited to 5,040,000 shares.
84.5%
Cumulative utilization rate
Limit
AmountUp to ¥200,000,000,000 (maximum under the resolution). The specific acquisition covered by this announcement is limited to ¥22,554,000,000.

The darker band is the portion acquired this time (The company will place an order in the Tokyo Stock Exchange's off-auction purchase transaction for treasury shares (ToSTNeT-3) at 8:45 a.m. on 20 August 2026. The purchase order will be valid only for the relevant trading session.). At this pace, the monetary limit will be reached first, and the acquisition will end without using the full share-count limit.

Number of Shares
LimitUp to 54,000,000 shares (maximum under the resolution). The specific acquisition covered by this announcement is limited to 5,040,000 shares.
Cumulative total38,496,700 shares (through 19 August 2026, on a contracted basis)
Currentnot disclosed (an order is scheduled to be placed through ToSTNeT-3 at 8:45 a.m. on 20 August 2026; the acquisition results will be announced after the close of trading)
Amount
LimitUp to ¥200,000,000,000 (maximum under the resolution). The specific acquisition covered by this announcement is limited to ¥22,554,000,000.
Cumulative total¥168,929,707,500 (through 19 August 2026, on a contracted basis)
Currentnot disclosed (maximum: ¥22,554,000,000)
Percentage of total issued shares6.1% (as a percentage of total issued shares excluding treasury shares)
Average acquisition price for this transaction (calculated)¥7,518,000,000 per shareCurrent acquisition price ÷ current number of shares acquired

消化率と残りは、会社が示した累計・今回と上限から算出しています。進捗率=上限に対してどこまで使ったかの割合です。 ToSTNeT is a system for trading outside the exchange's regular trading hours.

Progress against acquisition limit
ItemDetails
Total number of shares acquired in this transactionnot disclosed (an order is scheduled to be placed through ToSTNeT-3 at 8:45 a.m. on 20 August 2026; the acquisition results will be announced after the close of trading)
Total current acquisition pricenot disclosed (maximum: ¥22,554,000,000)
Acquisition date/acquisition periodThe company will place an order in the Tokyo Stock Exchange's off-auction purchase transaction for treasury shares (ToSTNeT-3) at 8:45 a.m. on 20 August 2026. The purchase order will be valid only for the relevant trading session.
Method of acquisitionOff-auction purchase (ToSTNeT-3)
Cumulative number of shares acquired38,496,700 shares (through 19 August 2026, on a contracted basis)
Cumulative acquisition cost¥168,929,707,500 (through 19 August 2026, on a contracted basis)
Resolution date29 January 2026
Maximum number of shares to be acquiredUp to 54,000,000 shares (maximum under the resolution). The specific acquisition covered by this announcement is limited to 5,040,000 shares.
Total acquisition priceUp to ¥200,000,000,000 (maximum under the resolution). The specific acquisition covered by this announcement is limited to ¥22,554,000,000.
Acquisition period under the resolution30 January 2026–29 January 2027
Percentage of total issued shares6.1% (as a percentage of total issued shares excluding treasury shares)
Items this document does not state (2)
Whether acquisition has been completedAverage Acquisition Price

These are items the company does not state in this document. We do not leave them blank, nor fill them in from other sources or by inference.

The reasons the company gives

The company's own explanation, not something inferred from the numbers.

The company decided on the specific acquisition method as part of the acquisition of treasury shares based on the resolution of the Board of Directors dated 29 January 2026. The company also states that market conditions and other factors may result in some or all of the shares not being acquired.

How to read this page

This is not the documentKomori reads the disclosure the company filed and writes this summary. Figures are as stated by the company and are not audited.
Weight is not a verdictIt measures how much this changes what the company had already told the market. It is not a view on the shares.
Corrections happenIf the company reissues this disclosure, the page is rebuilt from the corrected version and the revision number moves up.
Notice Regarding the Purchase of Treasury Shares Through an Off-Auction Purchase (ToSTNeT-3) | CANON INC. (7751) timely disclosure | Komori