Sales for this month
May 2026Fiscal year ending February 2027In May, same-store sales increased 6.4% for Sugi Pharmacy, 6.6% for the drugstore business and 5.8% for the dispensing pharmacy business. Total-store sales increased 9.3% for Sugi Pharmacy, 10.3% for the drugstore business and 6.7% for the dispensing pharmacy business.
Month March 2025 / Total-store sales, year on year 119.4, Month April 2025 / Total-store sales, year on year 119.6, Month May 2025 / Total-store sales, year on year 117.8, Month June 2025 / Total-store sales, year on year 117, Month July 2025 / Total-store sales, year on year 117.4, Month August 2025 / Total-store sales, year on year 113.9, Month September 2025 / Total-store sales, year on year 109.3, Month October 2025 / Total-store sales, year on year 108.3, Month November 2025 / Total-store sales, year on year 108.4, Month December 2025 / Total-store sales, year on year 102.3, Month January 2026 / Total-store sales, year on year 106, Month February 2026 / Total-store sales, year on year 107.8
Scope of aggregation: Business-by-business results for the Sugi Pharmacy Group and Sugi Pharmacy, excluding subsidiaries
| Item | Details |
|---|---|
| Month Covered | May 2026 |
| Fiscal Year Covered | Fiscal year ending February 2027 |
| Scope of aggregation | Business-by-business results for the Sugi Pharmacy Group and Sugi Pharmacy, excluding subsidiaries |
| Year-on-year change in monthly net sales | 109.3 |
| Total-store sales, year on year | 109.3 |
| Same-Store Sales, Year on Year | Ratio (%) 106.4 / Definition Stores that have been open for more than 13 months |
| Year-on-Year Change in Customer Count | All Stores 105.6 / Existing stores 101.9 |
| Year-on-Year Change in Average Spend per Customer | All Stores 103.6 / Existing stores 104.4 |
| Cumulative Year-on-Year Change from Start of Period | 108.7 |
| Year-on-year change by category | Name Drugstore business (retail merchandise): total-store sales / Year-on-year (%) 110.3, Name Drugstore business (retail merchandise): same-store sales / Year-on-year (%) 106.6, Name Dispensing pharmacy business: total-store sales / Year-on-year (%) 106.7, Name Dispensing pharmacy business: same-store sales / Year-on-year (%) 105.8 |
| Key KPIs | Indicator name All-store customer traffic / Value 105.6 Year-on-year (%), Indicator name All-store spend per customer / Value 103.6 Year-on-year (%), Indicator name Same-store customer traffic / Value 101.9 Year-on-year (%), Indicator name Same-store spend per customer / Value 104.4 Year-on-year (%) |
| Number of Stores at Period-End | Total number of locations 2,343 Location |
| Number of stores opened during the month | Number of Cases 9 / Store name and location Hanshin Dispensing Pharmacy Fukae-kita store (Higashinada-ku, Kobe, Hyogo), Aoba-no-Mori Pharmacy Fukushima Nisseki-mae store (Fukushima, Fukushima), Sugi Pharmacy Hakata Station Chikushiguchi store (Hakata-ku, Fukuoka, Fukuoka), Sugi Pharmacy Ise Jinku store (Ise, Mie), Sugi Pharmacy Nishio Yorizumi store (Nishio, Aichi), Sugi Pharmacy Elsa Azumino store (Azumino, Nagano), Sugi Pharmacy Urayasu Sakura-dori store (Urayasu, Chiba), Sugi Pharmacy Kamekubo store (Fujimino, Saitama), Yak nihondo Kyoto Teramachi store (Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto) |
| Number of stores closed during the month | Number of Cases 5 / Store name and location Sugi Pharmacy Kakogawa store (Kakogawa, Hyogo), Sugi Pharmacy Tokizawa store (Maebashi, Gunma), Hanshin Dispensing Pharmacy Higashi-Kaizuka store (Kaizuka, Osaka), Suzuka Dispensing Pharmacy Kameyama store (Kameyama, Mie), Sugi Hikari Pharmacy Toide store (Takaoka, Toyama) |
| Monthly Commentary | In May, same-store sales increased 6.4% for Sugi Pharmacy, 6.6% for the drugstore business and 5.8% for the dispensing pharmacy business. Total-store sales increased 9.3% for Sugi Pharmacy, 10.3% for the drugstore business and 6.7% for the dispensing pharmacy business. |
| Monthly trend for the same period last year | Month March 2025 / Total-store sales, year on year 119.4, Month April 2025 / Total-store sales, year on year 119.6, Month May 2025 / Total-store sales, year on year 117.8, Month June 2025 / Total-store sales, year on year 117, Month July 2025 / Total-store sales, year on year 117.4, Month August 2025 / Total-store sales, year on year 113.9, Month September 2025 / Total-store sales, year on year 109.3, Month October 2025 / Total-store sales, year on year 108.3, Month November 2025 / Total-store sales, year on year 108.4, Month December 2025 / Total-store sales, year on year 102.3, Month January 2026 / Total-store sales, year on year 106, Month February 2026 / Total-store sales, year on year 107.8 |
Items this document does not state (6)
These are items the company does not state in this document. We do not leave them blank, nor fill them in from other sources or by inference.
The reasons the company gives
The company's own explanation, not something inferred from the numbers.The company did not explain the specific factors behind the increase in sales. It stated that 9 stores were opened and 5 stores closed in May, bringing the total number of locations at month-end to 2,343.