Komori
Earnings6951JEOL Ltd.Electrical Equipment and Precision Instruments

Summary of Financial Results for the First Quarter of the Fiscal Year Ending March 2027 (Japanese GAAP) (Consolidated)

In Q1 of the fiscal year ending March 2027, net sales fell 39.1% year on year to ¥24,465 million, and operating income, ordinary income and net income all turned negative. The full-year earnings forecast and annual dividend forecast remain unchanged from the previous forecasts.

Worth reading
53Recurring
Scored from 5 of 6 sections
Direction
Deterioration
Direction inferred from the company’s description.
Scale
-39.1
% (year-on-year change in revenue)
Wording
Conditional
How definitive the wording is.

Results for this period

First quarter1 April 2026 to 30 June 2026ConsolidatedJapanese GAAP
Net Sales24,465¥ millionYear on year -39.1%Progress 14.9%
Operating profit-1,961¥ million
Ordinary income-1,362¥ million
Net income attributable to owners of the parent-1,710¥ million

The width of the band at each stage is based on revenue. The narrower it becomes toward the bottom, the smaller the proportion of revenue that remains as profit. The dotted outline is the full-year forecast and the band inside it is the result for this period. The progress rate is the result divided by the forecast.

Net income per share-¥35.21
Financial position at period-end
Total assets226,162¥ million
of which net assets 140,829 ¥ millionEquity ratio 62.3%vs. prior year-end +2.4pt

塗りつぶした部分が自己資本比率です。総資産のうち、返済のいらない自前の資金がどれだけかを表します。The thin vertical line indicates the level at the end of the previous fiscal year.

Segment revenueScientific and Measuring Instruments business ¥19,488 million (YoY -8.8%), Industrial equipment business ¥4,976 million (YoY -65.6%)
Segment profitScientific and Measuring Instruments business ¥-172 million, Industrial equipment business ¥221 million
Regional salesRegion Japan / Current fiscal year ¥6,518 million / Prior-year period ¥9,320 million, Region North, Central and South America / Current fiscal year ¥6,672 million / Prior-year period ¥5,812 million, Region China / Current fiscal year ¥2,967 million / Prior-year period ¥13,701 million, Region Other / Current fiscal year ¥8,307 million / Prior-year period ¥11,311 million
Outlook and shareholder returns
Full-year earnings forecast
Net Sales¥164,000 million (YoY -6.8%)
Operating profit¥26,500 million (YoY +1.9%)
Ordinary income¥26,200 million (YoY -4.8%)
Net income¥21,300 million (YoY -6.3%)
Revision to Earnings ForecastNo revision
Annual Dividend Forecast¥132 → ¥132(0.0%)
Factors Behind Changes in Business Performance

Net sales declined due to delays in renewal procedures for the import duty exemption system for Chinese universities and research institutions, the timing of revenue recognition for certain projects, and tighter export controls affecting projects for specific regions. Orders for spot-beam electron-beam lithography systems remained solid.

Disclosure regarding the going concern assumption

None ("There are no applicable matters.")

Change in accounting policy
基準改正に伴う変更 Noそれ以外の変更 No見積りの変更 No修正再表示 No
Changes in the scope of consolidationAdded: 0 companies; excluded: 0 companies
Breakdown of extraordinary income (loss)Extraordinary income Gain on sale of non-current assets ¥7 million, Gain on business transfer ¥158 million, Total extraordinary income ¥165 million / Extraordinary loss Loss on sale of fixed assets ¥1 million, Loss on Disposal of Fixed Assets ¥0 million, Total extraordinary loss ¥1 million
Depreciation and amortization¥1,338 million
Availability of Supplementary Financial Results MaterialsNo
Availability of Financial Results BriefingEvent No / Subject person Not disclosed
Issued Shares at Period-End51,532,800
Treasury Shares at Period-End2,825,065
Results for this period
ItemDetails
Fiscal Period ClassificationFirst quarter
Accounting standardsJapanese GAAP
Consolidated / non-consolidatedConsolidated
Period Covered1 April 2026 to 30 June 2026
Net Sales¥24,465 million (YoY -39.1%)
Operating profit¥-1,961 million
Ordinary income¥-1,362 million
Profit attributable to owners of the parent¥-1,710 million
Net income per share-¥35.21
Equity ratioEnd of the current fiscal period 62.3 / End of previous period 59.9
Total assets¥226,162 million
Net assets¥140,829 million
Full-year earnings forecastNet Sales ¥164,000 million (YoY -6.8%) / Operating profit ¥26,500 million (YoY +1.9%) / Ordinary income ¥26,200 million (YoY -4.8%) / Net income ¥21,300 million (YoY -6.3%)
Revision to Earnings ForecastNo revision
Annual Dividend Forecast¥132 → ¥132(0.0%)
Segment revenueScientific and Measuring Instruments business ¥19,488 million (YoY -8.8%), Industrial equipment business ¥4,976 million (YoY -65.6%)
Segment profitScientific and Measuring Instruments business ¥-172 million, Industrial equipment business ¥221 million
Regional salesRegion Japan / Current fiscal year ¥6,518 million / Prior-year period ¥9,320 million, Region North, Central and South America / Current fiscal year ¥6,672 million / Prior-year period ¥5,812 million, Region China / Current fiscal year ¥2,967 million / Prior-year period ¥13,701 million, Region Other / Current fiscal year ¥8,307 million / Prior-year period ¥11,311 million
Depreciation and amortization¥1,338 million
Breakdown of extraordinary income (loss)Extraordinary income Gain on sale of non-current assets ¥7 million, Gain on business transfer ¥158 million, Total extraordinary income ¥165 million / Extraordinary loss Loss on sale of fixed assets ¥1 million, Loss on Disposal of Fixed Assets ¥0 million, Total extraordinary loss ¥1 million
Disclosure regarding the going concern assumptionNone ("There are no applicable matters.")
Change in accounting policyChanges due to revisions to standards No / Other changes No / Change in accounting estimate No / Restatement No
Changes in the scope of consolidationAdded: 0 companies; excluded: 0 companies
Availability of Supplementary Financial Results MaterialsNo
Availability of Financial Results BriefingEvent No / Subject person Not disclosed
Issued Shares at Period-End51,532,800
Treasury Shares at Period-End2,825,065
Factors Behind Changes in Business PerformanceNet sales declined due to delays in renewal procedures for the import duty exemption system for Chinese universities and research institutions, the timing of revenue recognition for certain projects, and tighter export controls affecting projects for specific regions. Orders for spot-beam electron-beam lithography systems remained solid.
Items this document does not state (10)
Operating MarginCash flows from operating activitiesCash flows from investing activitiesCash flows from financing activitiesCash and cash equivalents at end of periodPayout ratioShareholder Return PolicyOrders received and order backlogImpairment lossMaterial subsequent events

These are items the company does not state in this document. We do not leave them blank, nor fill them in from other sources or by inference.

The reasons the company gives

The company's own explanation, not something inferred from the numbers.

In the Scientific and Measuring Instruments business, net sales declined due mainly to delays in renewal procedures for the import duty exemption system for Chinese universities and research institutions. In the Industrial Equipment business, net sales declined due to the impact of the timing of revenue recognition for certain projects and tighter export controls affecting projects for specific regions.

How to read this page

This is not the documentKomori reads the disclosure the company filed and writes this summary. Figures are as stated by the company and are not audited.
Weight is not a verdictIt measures how much this changes what the company had already told the market. It is not a view on the shares.
Corrections happenIf the company reissues this disclosure, the page is rebuilt from the corrected version and the revision number moves up.
Summary of Financial Results for the First Quarter of the Fiscal Year Ending March 2027 (Japanese GAAP) (Consolidated) | JEOL Ltd. (6951) timely disclosure | Komori