Komori
Earnings5991NHK SPRING CO.,LTD.Construction and Materials

Summary of Financial Results for the First Quarter of the Fiscal Year Ending March 2027 (Japanese GAAP) (Consolidated)

In the first quarter of the fiscal year ending March 2027, revenue increased 8.1% year on year and operating profit rose 30.0%. Ordinary profit and net income attributable to owners of the parent also increased significantly. Meanwhile, the Suspension Springs business swung from operating profit to operating loss.

Worth reading
42Recurring
0–100. This measures how worthwhile something is to read, not how good or bad the company is.
Direction
Improvement
Direction inferred from the company’s description.
Scale
3309
¥ million
Wording
Conditional
How definitive the wording is.

Results for this period

First quarter1 April 2026 to 30 June 2026ConsolidatedJapanese GAAP
Net Sales216,159¥ millionYear on year +8.1%Progress 25.1%
Operating profit14,356¥ millionYear on year +30.0%Progress 24.3%
Ordinary income20,644¥ millionYear on year +71.7%Progress 32.3%
Net income attributable to owners of the parent15,726¥ millionYear on year +75.2%Progress 34.9%

The width of the band at each stage is based on revenue. The narrower it becomes toward the bottom, the smaller the proportion of revenue that remains as profit. The dotted outline is the full-year forecast and the band inside it is the result for this period. The progress rate is the result divided by the forecast.

Net income per share¥77.63
Financial position at period-end
Total assets755,282¥ million
of which net assets 468,466 ¥ millionEquity ratio 60.0%vs. prior year-end +0.7pt

塗りつぶした部分が自己資本比率です。総資産のうち、返済のいらない自前の資金がどれだけかを表します。The thin vertical line indicates the level at the end of the previous fiscal year.

Segment revenueSuspension springs ¥43,421 million (YoY +3.8%), Seating ¥74,075 million (YoY +0.6%), Precision Components ¥28,062 million (YoY +8.8%), DDS ¥37,637 million (YoY +24.0%), Industrial equipment and other ¥32,962 million (YoY +16.2%)
Segment profitSuspension springs ¥-510 million, Seating ¥1,793 million (YoY +0.4%), Precision Components ¥1,304 million (YoY +26.2%), DDS ¥9,057 million (YoY +43.1%), Industrial equipment and other ¥2,711 million (YoY +66.7%)
Regional salesCurrent fiscal year Japan 118,215 / Asia 60,778 / Europe, the Americas and other regions 37,165 / Prior-year period Japan 109,758 / Asia 56,265 / Europe, the Americas and other regions 33,929 / yoy_pct Not disclosed
Outlook and shareholder returns
Full-year earnings forecast
Net Sales¥860,000 million (YoY +5.3%)
Operating profit¥59,000 million (YoY +28.9%)
Ordinary income¥64,000 million (YoY +22.6%)
Net income¥45,000 million (YoY +61.5%)
Revision to Earnings ForecastConsolidated revenue 860,000 / Consolidated operating profit 59,000 / Suspension Springs Operating Profit 4,000 / Seating Operating Profit 9,000 / Precision Components Operating Profit 5,000 / DDS Operating Profit 30,000 / Industrial Equipment and Other Operating Profit 11,000 → Consolidated revenue 860,000 / Consolidated operating profit 59,000 / Suspension Springs Operating Profit 3,000 / Seating Operating Profit 9,000 / Precision Components Operating Profit 5,000 / DDS Operating Profit 31,000 / Industrial Equipment and Other Operating Profit 11,000
Annual Dividend Forecast¥66 → ¥69
Factors Behind Changes in Business Performance

Increases in domestic automobile production, global HDD shipments and demand for high-capacity HDDs for data centers. In the Precision Components business, higher volumes of automobile-related components and HDD mechanism components contributed to results. In the DDS business, higher sales volumes of HDD suspensions contributed, while in the Industrial Equipment and Other business, higher volumes of semiconductor process components and metal substrates contributed. In the Suspension Springs business, the impact of U.S. tariffs and one-time expenses weighed on profit.

Disclosure regarding the going concern assumption

Not applicable.

Change in accounting policy
基準改正に伴う変更 Noそれ以外の変更 No見積りの変更 No修正再表示 No
Changes in the scope of consolidationWhether applicable No / New 0 companies / Excluded 0 companies / Company name Not disclosed
Depreciation and amortization¥7,736 million
Availability of Supplementary Financial Results MaterialsNo
Availability of Financial Results BriefingNone (対象者:Not disclosed)
Issued Shares at Period-End231,066,144 Shares
Treasury Shares at Period-End28,470,909 Shares
Results for this period
ItemDetails
Fiscal Period ClassificationFirst quarter
Accounting standardsJapanese GAAP
Consolidated / non-consolidatedConsolidated
Period Covered1 April 2026 to 30 June 2026
Net Sales¥216,159 million (YoY +8.1%)
Operating profit¥14,356 million (YoY +30.0%)
Ordinary income¥20,644 million (YoY +71.7%)
Profit attributable to owners of the parent¥15,726 million (YoY +75.2%)
Net income per share¥77.63
Equity ratioEnd of the current fiscal period 60 / End of previous period 59.3
Total assets¥755,282 million
Net assets¥468,466 million
Full-year earnings forecastNet Sales ¥860,000 million (YoY +5.3%) / Operating profit ¥59,000 million (YoY +28.9%) / Ordinary income ¥64,000 million (YoY +22.6%) / Net income ¥45,000 million (YoY +61.5%)
Revision to Earnings ForecastConsolidated revenue 860,000 / Consolidated operating profit 59,000 / Suspension Springs Operating Profit 4,000 / Seating Operating Profit 9,000 / Precision Components Operating Profit 5,000 / DDS Operating Profit 30,000 / Industrial Equipment and Other Operating Profit 11,000 → Consolidated revenue 860,000 / Consolidated operating profit 59,000 / Suspension Springs Operating Profit 3,000 / Seating Operating Profit 9,000 / Precision Components Operating Profit 5,000 / DDS Operating Profit 31,000 / Industrial Equipment and Other Operating Profit 11,000
Annual Dividend Forecast¥66 → ¥69
Segment revenueSuspension springs ¥43,421 million (YoY +3.8%), Seating ¥74,075 million (YoY +0.6%), Precision Components ¥28,062 million (YoY +8.8%), DDS ¥37,637 million (YoY +24.0%), Industrial equipment and other ¥32,962 million (YoY +16.2%)
Segment profitSuspension springs ¥-510 million, Seating ¥1,793 million (YoY +0.4%), Precision Components ¥1,304 million (YoY +26.2%), DDS ¥9,057 million (YoY +43.1%), Industrial equipment and other ¥2,711 million (YoY +66.7%)
Regional salesCurrent fiscal year Japan 118,215 / Asia 60,778 / Europe, the Americas and other regions 37,165 / Prior-year period Japan 109,758 / Asia 56,265 / Europe, the Americas and other regions 33,929 / yoy_pct Not disclosed
Depreciation and amortization¥7,736 million
Disclosure regarding the going concern assumptionNot applicable.
Change in accounting policyChanges due to revisions to standards No / Other changes No / Change in accounting estimate No / Restatement No
Changes in the scope of consolidationWhether applicable No / New 0 companies / Excluded 0 companies / Company name Not disclosed
Availability of Supplementary Financial Results MaterialsNo
Availability of Financial Results BriefingNone (対象者:Not disclosed)
Issued Shares at Period-End231,066,144 Shares
Treasury Shares at Period-End28,470,909 Shares
Factors Behind Changes in Business PerformanceIncreases in domestic automobile production, global HDD shipments and demand for high-capacity HDDs for data centers. In the Precision Components business, higher volumes of automobile-related components and HDD mechanism components contributed to results. In the DDS business, higher sales volumes of HDD suspensions contributed, while in the Industrial Equipment and Other business, higher volumes of semiconductor process components and metal substrates contributed. In the Suspension Springs business, the impact of U.S. tariffs and one-time expenses weighed on profit.
Items this document does not state (11)
Operating MarginCash flows from operating activitiesCash flows from investing activitiesCash flows from financing activitiesCash and cash equivalents at end of periodPayout ratioShareholder Return PolicyOrders received and order backlogImpairment lossBreakdown of extraordinary income (loss)Material subsequent events

These are items the company does not state in this document. We do not leave them blank, nor fill them in from other sources or by inference.

The reasons the company gives

The company's own explanation, not something inferred from the numbers.

Results were boosted by higher domestic automobile production, increased global HDD shipments and growing demand for high-capacity HDDs for data centers. Higher volumes of components and HDD suspensions contributed to the Precision Components, DDS and Industrial Equipment and Other businesses, while the Suspension Springs business incurred the impact of U.S. tariffs and one-time expenses.

How to read this page

This is not the documentKomori reads the disclosure the company filed and writes this summary. Figures are as stated by the company and are not audited.
Weight is not a verdictIt measures how much this changes what the company had already told the market. It is not a view on the shares.
Corrections happenIf the company reissues this disclosure, the page is rebuilt from the corrected version and the revision number moves up.
Summary of Financial Results for the First Quarter of the Fiscal Year Ending March 2027 (Japanese GAAP) (Consolidated) | NHK SPRING CO.,LTD. (5991) timely disclosure | Komori