Komori
M&A and Subsidiary Changes5838Rakuten Bank,Ltd.Banks

(Update on Disclosed Matter) Responses to Frequently Asked Questions Regarding the Reorganization of the Fintech Business

Explanations regarding the structure of the Class A shares and the outlook for EPS following the reorganization have been added to and supplemented in the previously published FAQ on the fintech business reorganization. This disclosure does not change the transaction framework itself.

Worth reading
73In focus
0–100. This measures how worthwhile something is to read, not how good or bad the company is.
Direction
Neutral
Direction inferred from the company’s description.
Scale
—
Displayed only when the document provides numerical figures.
Wording
Avoiding a definitive answer
How definitive the wording is.

This transaction

Share Delivery / Fintech Business Reorganization
CounterpartyRakuten Group,Inc., Mizuho Bank, Ltd.
Disclosing companyRakuten Bank,Ltd.
楽天カード株式会社, 楽天証券ホールディングス株式会社Subject of this transactionNumber of shares acquired Rakuten Group: 207,330,443 Class A shares (of which 25,859,500 shares are scheduled to be converted into common shares); みずほ銀行: 23,559,673 Class A shares (all scheduled to be converted into common shares)
Contract Date20 May 2026 (date the final agreement was announced; the contract signing date itself: Not disclosed)
Consideration and expenses
Type of ConsiderationShares (Class A shares)
Impact on Business Performance

The aim is to improve EPS following the reorganization to a level above the pre-reorganization level. Assuming ordinary income of ¥400 billion or more for the fiscal year ending March 2030, EPS is expected to be approximately ¥640.

Procedures and assumptions
Valuation methodologyShare delivery ratio calculation report and fairness opinion
Independent valuation institutionDeloitte Tohmatsu
Special CommitteeEstablished. The committee comprises 2 independent outside directors, 2 independent outside corporate auditors and 1 corporate legal specialist, for a total of 5 members. It met 18 times between 11 February and 20 May 2026.
Management structure after acquisitionOn the assumption that Rakuten Bank remains listed, it will continue to be an important consolidated subsidiary of Rakuten Group following the reorganization. Rakuten Group and みずほ銀行 have explained that they currently have no intention to sell their holdings in the future.
This transaction
ItemDetails
Transaction nameShare Delivery / Fintech Business Reorganization
Counterparty nameRakuten Group,Inc., Mizuho Bank, Ltd.
Name of the Subject Company楽天カード株式会社, 楽天証券ホールディングス株式会社
Type of ConsiderationShares (Class A shares)
Number of shares acquiredRakuten Group: 207,330,443 Class A shares (of which 25,859,500 shares are scheduled to be converted into common shares); みずほ銀行: 23,559,673 Class A shares (all scheduled to be converted into common shares)
Impact on Business PerformanceThe aim is to improve EPS following the reorganization to a level above the pre-reorganization level. Assuming ordinary income of ¥400 billion or more for the fiscal year ending March 2030, EPS is expected to be approximately ¥640.
Contract Date20 May 2026 (date the final agreement was announced; the contract signing date itself: Not disclosed)
Valuation methodologyShare delivery ratio calculation report and fairness opinion
Independent valuation institutionDeloitte Tohmatsu
Special CommitteeEstablished. The committee comprises 2 independent outside directors, 2 independent outside corporate auditors and 1 corporate legal specialist, for a total of 5 members. It met 18 times between 11 February and 20 May 2026.
Management structure after acquisitionOn the assumption that Rakuten Bank remains listed, it will continue to be an important consolidated subsidiary of Rakuten Group following the reorganization. Rakuten Group and みずほ銀行 have explained that they currently have no intention to sell their holdings in the future.
Items this document does not state (22)
Business Description of the Subject CompanyLocation of the Subject CompanyCapital Stock of the Subject CompanyDate of Establishment of the Subject CompanyNet Sales of the Subject CompanyOperating Profit of the Subject CompanyNet Income of the Subject CompanyNet Assets of the Subject CompanyAcquisition priceExpenses other than the acquisition priceMerger ratio/share exchange ratioTender offer priceMinimum number of shares to be purchasedTender offer periodVoting rights ownership percentageFunding arrangementsGoodwill amountAmount of extraordinary income (loss)Date of board resolutionExecution Date / Effective DateConditions Precedent to ExecutionEmployee treatment following integration

These are items the company does not state in this document. We do not leave them blank, nor fill them in from other sources or by inference.

The reasons the company gives

The company's own explanation, not something inferred from the numbers.

To supplement the explanations in the existing FAQ in light of questions and inquiries received from stakeholders.

How to read this page

This is not the documentKomori reads the disclosure the company filed and writes this summary. Figures are as stated by the company and are not audited.
Weight is not a verdictIt measures how much this changes what the company had already told the market. It is not a view on the shares.
Corrections happenIf the company reissues this disclosure, the page is rebuilt from the corrected version and the revision number moves up.
(Update on Disclosed Matter) Responses to Frequently Asked Questions Regarding the Reorganization of the Fintech Business | Rakuten Bank,Ltd. (5838) timely disclosure | Komori