Komori
Financial results presentation4523Eisai Co.,Ltd.Pharmaceuticals

FY2025 Financial Results Briefing Materials

In FY2025, revenue reached a record high, driven particularly by growth in the pharmaceutical business, including the 3L products. Operating profit declined, however, due to factors including the decision not to proceed with product licensing or sales and structural reform costs in Europe. For FY2026, the Company plans for revenue of ¥883.5 billion and operating profit of ¥70.0 billion.

Worth reading
72In focus
Scored from 5 of 6 sections
Direction
Mixed performance
Direction inferred from the company’s description.
Scale
360
¥100 million (year-on-year increase in consolidated revenue)
Wording
Conditional
How definitive the wording is.

Contents of this document

Financial results presentationFY2025 full year8 items taken from the company’s own explanation
Financial Results Figures (The key points of this material are explained below)
Net Sales8,254 Hundreds of millions of yen+4.6%
Operating profit441 Hundreds of millions of yen-18.8%
Net income¥386 100 million -17.0%attributable to owners of the parent
Selling, general and administrative expenses4,353 Hundreds of millions of yen
Operating profit margin
Rate5.3 %
Year-on-year change (points)-1.5 %
Full-year earnings forecast
Fiscal 2026
Revenue
8,835 Hundreds of millions of yen
Operating profit
700 Hundreds of millions of yen
Profit for the period (attributable to owners of the parent)
523 Hundreds of millions of yen
EPS
¥185
Adjusted ROIC
8.7 %
ROE
5.9 %
Progress against full-year forecast 通期の予想に対して、いまどこまで進んだかの割合です。
Vs. FY2025 forecast
Revenue104.5 %
Operating profit81 %
Profit for the period (attributable to owners of the parent)92.9 %
EPS92.9 %
By segment and productDisclosed
What the company explained in this material
Breakdown of Factors Affecting the ChangeReasons cited by the Company for the change in the figures.
Revenue
3L683 Hundreds of millions of yen
Products other than 3L-66 Hundreds of millions of yen
Other Businesses-258 Hundreds of millions of yen
Operating profit
Gross profit136 Hundreds of millions of yen
Research and development costs130 Hundreds of millions of yen
Selling, General and Administrative Expenses-273 Hundreds of millions of yen
Other profit (loss)-95 Hundreds of millions of yen
Assumptions Underlying the Business OutlookThe assumptions used by the company in preparing its forecast.
FY2025 average rate during the fiscal year
US dollars¥150.77
Euro¥174.78
British pound¥202.1
Renminbi¥21.24
FY2026 forecast average rate during the fiscal year
US dollars¥153
Euro¥180
British pound¥205
Renminbi¥22.5
New initiatives
  • Introduction and future disclosure of core operating profit
  • Introduction of adjusted ROIC
  • In-licensing of taletrectinib (Nuvation Bio Inc.)
  • In-licensing of serplulimab (Shanghai Henlius Biotech, Inc.)
  • Shelf registration for corporate bonds (planned issue amount: ¥300 billion; planned issuance period: 8 April 2026 to 7 April 2028)
  • Awareness activities through the partnership between Dayvigo and Pokémon Sleep
  • New telehealth initiative for Dayvigo in the United States
Key KPIsA metric the company considers important as a management benchmark.
  • IQLIK maintenance-therapy reimbursement rate85 %
  • Number of facilities using IQLIK600 Facility
  • BBM share of confirmed Aβ diagnoses (FY2025)15 %
  • Estimated BBM use rate among confirmed Aβ diagnoses (FY2028)50 Over %
  • Year-on-year number of people receiving AAT (Q4 FY2025)1.8 times
    Year on year against the same period last yearApproximately 1.8-fold
Segment results
Pharmaceuticals total
Revenue8,108 Hundreds of millions of yen
Year-on-year revenue comparison8.2 Hundreds of millions of yen
Segment profit3,673 Hundreds of millions of yen
Year-on-year change in profit4.8 Hundreds of millions of yen
Japan
Revenue2,292 Hundreds of millions of yen
Year-on-year revenue comparison6 Hundreds of millions of yen
Segment profit730 Hundreds of millions of yen
Year-on-year change in profit1.8 Hundreds of millions of yen
Americas
Revenue3,004 Hundreds of millions of yen
Year-on-year revenue comparison8 Hundreds of millions of yen
Segment profit1,744 Hundreds of millions of yen
Year-on-year change in profit10.2 Hundreds of millions of yen
China
Revenue1,307 Hundreds of millions of yen
Year-on-year revenue comparison13.2 Hundreds of millions of yen
Segment profit593 Hundreds of millions of yen
Year-on-year change in profit3.7 Hundreds of millions of yen
EMEA
Revenue815 Hundreds of millions of yen
Year-on-year revenue comparison2.7 Hundreds of millions of yen
Segment profit304 Hundreds of millions of yen
Year-on-year change in profit-15.4 Hundreds of millions of yen
East Asia and Global South
Revenue688 Hundreds of millions of yen
Year-on-year revenue comparison15.6 Hundreds of millions of yen
Segment profit302 Hundreds of millions of yen
Year-on-year change in profit10.5 Hundreds of millions of yen
Other Businesses
Revenue146 Hundreds of millions of yen
Year-on-year revenue comparison-63.8 Hundreds of millions of yen
Segment profit45 Hundreds of millions of yen
Year-on-year change in profit-84.8 Hundreds of millions of yen
Medium-term management plan targets
Adjusted ROIC
Target8~10%
TimingMedium- to Long-Term Outlook
ROE
Target8%
TimingMedium- to Long-Term Outlook
Actual results
Adjusted ROIC6.8%
ROE4.4%
Financial targets
Adjusted ROIC
Target8–10% (medium to long term)
Actual results6.8%
ROE
Target8% (medium to long term)
Actual results4.4%
Market Size / Share
LenvimaTop TKI share in approved cancer indications
DayvigoNo. 1 share in sales and number of treated patients in Japan
LEQEMBINo. 1 globally in AAT (internal estimate)
DAYVIGONo. 1 globally in DORA (internal estimate)
Contents of this document
ItemDetails
Document typeFinancial results presentation
Fiscal Period CoveredFY2025 full year
Net Sales8,254 Hundreds of millions of yen (YoY +4.6%)
Operating profit441 Hundreds of millions of yen (YoY -18.8%)
Net income¥386 100 million (attributable to owners of the parent) (YoY -17.0%)
Operating profit marginRate 5.3 % / Year-on-year change (points) -1.5 %
Selling, general and administrative expenses4,353 Hundreds of millions of yen
Full-year earnings forecastFiscal 2026 Revenue 8,835 Hundreds of millions of yen / Operating profit 700 Hundreds of millions of yen / Profit for the period (attributable to owners of the parent) 523 Hundreds of millions of yen / EPS ¥185 / Adjusted ROIC 8.7 % / ROE 5.9 %
Progress against full-year forecastVs. FY2025 forecast Revenue 104.5 % / Operating profit 81 % / Profit for the period (attributable to owners of the parent) 92.9 % / EPS 92.9 % / By segment and product Disclosed
Segment resultsPharmaceuticals total Revenue 8,108 Hundreds of millions of yen / Year-on-year revenue comparison 8.2 Hundreds of millions of yen / Segment profit 3,673 Hundreds of millions of yen / Year-on-year change in profit 4.8 Hundreds of millions of yen / Japan Revenue 2,292 Hundreds of millions of yen / Year-on-year revenue comparison 6 Hundreds of millions of yen / Segment profit 730 Hundreds of millions of yen / Year-on-year change in profit 1.8 Hundreds of millions of yen / Americas Revenue 3,004 Hundreds of millions of yen / Year-on-year revenue comparison 8 Hundreds of millions of yen / Segment profit 1,744 Hundreds of millions of yen / Year-on-year change in profit 10.2 Hundreds of millions of yen / China Revenue 1,307 Hundreds of millions of yen / Year-on-year revenue comparison 13.2 Hundreds of millions of yen / Segment profit 593 Hundreds of millions of yen / Year-on-year change in profit 3.7 Hundreds of millions of yen / EMEA Revenue 815 Hundreds of millions of yen / Year-on-year revenue comparison 2.7 Hundreds of millions of yen / Segment profit 304 Hundreds of millions of yen / Year-on-year change in profit -15.4 Hundreds of millions of yen / East Asia and Global South Revenue 688 Hundreds of millions of yen / Year-on-year revenue comparison 15.6 Hundreds of millions of yen / Segment profit 302 Hundreds of millions of yen / Year-on-year change in profit 10.5 Hundreds of millions of yen / Other Businesses Revenue 146 Hundreds of millions of yen / Year-on-year revenue comparison -63.8 Hundreds of millions of yen / Segment profit 45 Hundreds of millions of yen / Year-on-year change in profit -84.8 Hundreds of millions of yen
Breakdown of Factors Affecting the ChangeRevenue 3L 683 Hundreds of millions of yen / Products other than 3L -66 Hundreds of millions of yen / Other Businesses -258 Hundreds of millions of yen / Operating profit Gross profit 136 Hundreds of millions of yen / Research and development costs 130 Hundreds of millions of yen / Selling, General and Administrative Expenses -273 Hundreds of millions of yen / Other profit (loss) -95 Hundreds of millions of yen
Key KPIsIndicator name IQLIK maintenance-therapy reimbursement rate / Value 85 % / Year on year against the same period last year Not disclosed, Indicator name Number of facilities using IQLIK / Value 600 Facility / Year on year against the same period last year Not disclosed, Indicator name BBM share of confirmed Aβ diagnoses (FY2025) / Value 15 % / Year on year against the same period last year Not disclosed, Indicator name Estimated BBM use rate among confirmed Aβ diagnoses (FY2028) / Value 50 Over % / Year on year against the same period last year Not disclosed, Indicator name Year-on-year number of people receiving AAT (Q4 FY2025) / Value 1.8 times / Year on year against the same period last year Approximately 1.8-fold
Assumptions Underlying the Business OutlookFY2025 average rate during the fiscal year US dollars ¥150.77 / Euro ¥174.78 / British pound ¥202.1 / Renminbi ¥21.24 / FY2026 forecast average rate during the fiscal year US dollars ¥153 / Euro ¥180 / British pound ¥205 / Renminbi ¥22.5
Medium-term management plan targetsAdjusted ROIC Target 8~10% / Timing Medium- to Long-Term Outlook / ROE Target 8% / Timing Medium- to Long-Term Outlook / Actual results Adjusted ROIC 6.8% / ROE 4.4%
Financial targetsAdjusted ROIC Target 8–10% (medium to long term) / Actual results 6.8% / ROE Target 8% (medium to long term) / Actual results 4.4%
Market Size / ShareLenvima Top TKI share in approved cancer indications / Dayvigo No. 1 share in sales and number of treated patients in Japan / LEQEMBI No. 1 globally in AAT (internal estimate) / DAYVIGO No. 1 globally in DORA (internal estimate)
New initiativesIntroduction and future disclosure of core operating profit, Introduction of adjusted ROIC, In-licensing of taletrectinib (Nuvation Bio Inc.), In-licensing of serplulimab (Shanghai Henlius Biotech, Inc.), Shelf registration for corporate bonds (planned issue amount: ¥300 billion; planned issuance period: 8 April 2026 to 7 April 2028), Awareness activities through the partnership between Dayvigo and Pokémon Sleep, New telehealth initiative for Dayvigo in the United States
Items this document does not state (14)
Ordinary incomeGross Profit MarginResults for the three months of the current quarterSelf-assessment against the planUnit price and quantity metricsNumber of stores and locationsNumber of employeesRisk amount incorporated into the outlookAnnual DividendPayout ratioAcquisition of treasury sharesCapital expendituresOrders received and order backlogKey points of the Q&A

These are items the company does not state in this document. We do not leave them blank, nor fill them in from other sources or by inference.

The reasons the company gives

The company's own explanation, not something inferred from the numbers.

Revenue was driven by growth in the 3L products (Lenvima, Dayvigo and Leqembi). Factors contributing to the decline in operating profit included the decision not to proceed with product licensing or sales, structural reform costs in Europe, and inventory valuation losses associated with the discontinuation of Tazverik sales.

How to read this page

This is not the documentKomori reads the disclosure the company filed and writes this summary. Figures are as stated by the company and are not audited.
Weight is not a verdictIt measures how much this changes what the company had already told the market. It is not a view on the shares.
Corrections happenIf the company reissues this disclosure, the page is rebuilt from the corrected version and the revision number moves up.
FY2025 Financial Results Briefing Materials | Eisai Co.,Ltd. (4523) timely disclosure | Komori