Komori
Financial Results Presentation4521KAKEN PHARMACEUTICAL CO.,LTD.Pharmaceuticals

Supplementary Financial Results Materials for the First Quarter of the Fiscal Year Ending March 2027

In the first quarter of the fiscal year ending March 2027, consolidated net sales increased 59.8% year on year and operating income was ¥10,902 million, resulting in substantial increases in both revenue and profit. However, sales of certain core domestic products, including the Krenafin antifungal treatment range for toenail fungus, declined.

Worth reading
29Immaterial
0–100. This measures how worthwhile something is to read, not how good or bad the company is.
Direction
Mixed performance
Direction inferred from the company’s description.
Scale
11286
¥ million (year-on-year increase in consolidated net sales)
Wording
Conditional
How definitive the wording is.

Contents of this document

Supplementary materials to the earnings reportFirst quarter of the fiscal year ending March 20274 items taken from the company’s own explanation
Financial Results Figures (The key points of this material are explained below)
Net Sales30,154 Millions of yen+59.8%
Operating profit10,902 Millions of yen
Ordinary income11,258 Millions of yen
Net income8,439 Millions of yen
Selling, general and administrative expenses10,067 Millions of yen
Gross Profit Margin
Rate69.5%
Year-on-year change (points)Up 17.2 percentage points (52.3% in the same period of the prior year)
Operating profit margin
Rate36.2%
Year-on-year change (points)Up from 0.1% in the same period of the prior year
Full-year earnings forecast
Net Sales
89,900 Millions of yen
Operating profit
7,900 Millions of yen
Ordinary income
8,600 Millions of yen
Profit attributable to owners of the parent
6,500 Millions of yen
What the company explained in this material
New initiatives
  • Application for marketing approval in Japan for KAR
  • Application for marketing approval in Japan for KP-001
  • Obtaining insurance coverage and preparing for the launch of the medical device Silk Elastin Wound Sheet
Key KPIsA metric the company considers important as a management benchmark.
  • Overseas revenue ratio48.1 %
    Year on year against the same period last year+38.9%
  • Sales of Krenafin products, treatments for toenail fungus2,310 Millions of yen
    Year on year against the same period last year-47.2%
  • Sales of Alz, a joint-function treatment4,508 Millions of yen
    Year on year against the same period last year-2.3%
  • Sales of Seprafilm, an absorbable adhesion barrier1,721 Millions of yen
    Year on year against the same period last year-0.5%
  • Sales of Eklok, a treatment for primary axillary hyperhidrosis832 Millions of yen
    Year on year against the same period last year+3.6%
  • Sales of Fiblast, a treatment for pressure ulcers and skin ulcers517 Millions of yen
    Year on year against the same period last year-8.5%
  • Sales of Regroth, a periodontal tissue regeneration treatment222 Millions of yen
    Year on year against the same period last year+0.8%
  • Sales of Hernicore, a treatment for lumbar disc herniation89 Millions of yen
    Year on year against the same period last year+13.0%
  • Generic pharmaceutical sales (excluding authorized generics)1,796 Millions of yen
    Year on year against the same period last year-1.6%
Segment results
  • Pharmaceuticals
    Net Sales29,496 Millions of yen (YoY +61.8%)
  • Pharmaceuticals and medical devices (Japan and overseas)
    Net Sales27,796 Millions of yen (YoY +62.8%)
  • Agricultural chemicals
    Net Sales1,644 Millions of yen (YoY +48.3%)
  • Other
    Net Sales55 Millions of yen (YoY +10.0%)
  • Real Estate Business
    Net Sales657 Millions of yen (YoY +3.1%)
Capital expenditures
575 Millions of yen
Contents of this document
ItemDetails
Document typeSupplementary materials to the earnings report
Fiscal Period CoveredFirst quarter of the fiscal year ending March 2027
Net Sales30,154 Millions of yen (YoY +59.8%)
Operating profit10,902 Millions of yen
Ordinary income11,258 Millions of yen
Net income8,439 Millions of yen
Gross Profit MarginRate 69.5% / Year-on-year change (points) Up 17.2 percentage points (52.3% in the same period of the prior year)
Operating profit marginRate 36.2% / Year-on-year change (points) Up from 0.1% in the same period of the prior year
Selling, general and administrative expenses10,067 Millions of yen
Full-year earnings forecastNet Sales 89,900 Millions of yen / Operating profit 7,900 Millions of yen / Ordinary income 8,600 Millions of yen / Profit attributable to owners of the parent 6,500 Millions of yen
Segment resultsSegment Pharmaceuticals / Net Sales 29,496 Millions of yen (YoY +61.8%), Segment Pharmaceuticals and medical devices (Japan and overseas) / Net Sales 27,796 Millions of yen (YoY +62.8%), Segment Agricultural chemicals / Net Sales 1,644 Millions of yen (YoY +48.3%), Segment Other / Net Sales 55 Millions of yen (YoY +10.0%), Segment Real Estate Business / Net Sales 657 Millions of yen (YoY +3.1%)
Key KPIsIndicator name Overseas revenue ratio / Value 48.1 % / Year on year against the same period last year 38.9 %, Indicator name Sales of Krenafin products, treatments for toenail fungus / Value 2,310 Millions of yen / Year on year against the same period last year -47.2 Millions of yen, Indicator name Sales of Alz, a joint-function treatment / Value 4,508 Millions of yen / Year on year against the same period last year -2.3 Millions of yen, Indicator name Sales of Seprafilm, an absorbable adhesion barrier / Value 1,721 Millions of yen / Year on year against the same period last year -0.5 Millions of yen, Indicator name Sales of Eklok, a treatment for primary axillary hyperhidrosis / Value 832 Millions of yen / Year on year against the same period last year 3.6 Millions of yen, Indicator name Sales of Fiblast, a treatment for pressure ulcers and skin ulcers / Value 517 Millions of yen / Year on year against the same period last year -8.5 Millions of yen, Indicator name Sales of Regroth, a periodontal tissue regeneration treatment / Value 222 Millions of yen / Year on year against the same period last year 0.8 Millions of yen, Indicator name Sales of Hernicore, a treatment for lumbar disc herniation / Value 89 Millions of yen / Year on year against the same period last year 13 Millions of yen, Indicator name Generic pharmaceutical sales (excluding authorized generics) / Value 1,796 Millions of yen / Year on year against the same period last year -1.6 Millions of yen
Capital expenditures575 Millions of yen
New initiativesApplication for marketing approval in Japan for KAR, Application for marketing approval in Japan for KP-001, Obtaining insurance coverage and preparing for the launch of the medical device Silk Elastin Wound Sheet
Items this document does not state (17)
Results for the three months of the current quarterProgress against full-year forecastSelf-assessment against the planBreakdown of Factors Affecting the ChangeUnit price and quantity metricsNumber of stores and locationsNumber of employeesAssumptions Underlying the Business OutlookRisk amount incorporated into the outlookMedium-term management plan targetsFinancial targetsAnnual DividendPayout ratioAcquisition of treasury sharesOrders received and order backlogMarket Size / ShareKey points of the Q&A

These are items the company does not state in this document. We do not leave them blank, nor fill them in from other sources or by inference.

The reasons the company gives

The company's own explanation, not something inferred from the numbers.

The reasons for the overall changes in performance are not explicitly stated in the narrative. The tables show that overseas sales, particularly pharmaceutical sales and sales by Aadi, increased substantially, while sales of domestic products such as the Krenafin range declined.

How to read this page

This is not the documentKomori reads the disclosure the company filed and writes this summary. Figures are as stated by the company and are not audited.
Weight is not a verdictIt measures how much this changes what the company had already told the market. It is not a view on the shares.
Corrections happenIf the company reissues this disclosure, the page is rebuilt from the corrected version and the revision number moves up.
Supplementary Financial Results Materials for the First Quarter of the Fiscal Year Ending March 2027 | KAKEN PHARMACEUTICAL CO.,LTD. (4521) timely disclosure | Komori