Komori
Financial results presentation4045TOAGOSEI CO.,LTD.Materials and Chemicals

Financial Results Presentation for the First Quarter of the Fiscal Year Ending December 2026

In the first quarter of the fiscal year ending December 2026, net sales and operating income were below the year-earlier period, while ordinary income was broadly unchanged and net income attributable to owners of the parent increased substantially. Operating income declined as the impact of lower volumes and higher fixed costs offset the benefit of improved unit prices.

Worth reading
47Recurring
0–100. This measures how worthwhile something is to read, not how good or bad the company is.
Direction
Mixed performance
Direction inferred from the company’s description.
Scale
-156
¥ millions (year-on-year change in operating income)
Wording
Definitive
How definitive the wording is.

Contents of this document

Financial results presentationFirst quarter of the fiscal year ending December 20266 items taken from the company’s own explanation
Financial Results Figures (The key points of this material are explained below)
Net Sales¥38,634 million-3.0%
Operating profit¥3,206 million-4.7%
Ordinary income¥3,201 million+0.2%
Net income¥2,774 million+38.7%
Operating profit margin8.3 %
Results for the three months of the current quarter
Net Sales
¥38,634 million
Operating profit
¥3,206 million
Ordinary income
¥3,201 million
Net income
¥2,774 million
What the company explained in this material
Breakdown of Factors Affecting the ChangeReasons cited by the Company for the change in the figures.
  • Volume variance¥-2.6 100 million
  • Price variance¥10.2 100 million
  • Fixed-cost variance¥-9.2 100 million
Assumptions Underlying the Business OutlookThe assumptions used by the company in preparing its forecast.
  • 159.9 JPY/USD 31 March 2026
    AssumptionsJPY/USD
  • 4.88 JPY/THB 31 March 2026
    Assumptions¥/THB
  • 65,900 JPY/kl January–March 2026 average
    AssumptionsNaphtha prices
Key KPIsA metric the company considers important as a management benchmark.
  • Year-on-year change in inorganic chemicals sales102 %
  • Year-on-year change in acrylic monomer sales83 %
  • Year-on-year change in industrial gas sales111 %
  • Year-on-year change in polymer sales112 %
  • Year-on-year change in oligomer sales97 %
  • Year-on-year change in flocculant sales102 %
  • Year-on-year change in instant adhesive sales103 %
  • Year-on-year change in functional adhesive sales107 %
  • Year-on-year change in functional inorganic materials sales73 %
  • Year-on-year change in high-purity inorganic chemicals sales131 %
  • Year-on-year change in new product development sales184 %
  • Year-on-year change in environmental infrastructure systems sales106 %
  • Year-on-year change in life support sales101 %
  • Year-on-year change in eco-materials sales90 %
Unit price and quantity metricsThese figures show sales broken down by price and volume.
  • Volume variance in net sales¥-1,939 million
  • Unit-price variance in net sales¥751 million
  • Volume variance in operating income¥-2.6 100 million
  • Unit-price variance in operating income¥10.2 100 million
Segment results
  • Basic Chemicals
    Net Sales¥15,697 million (YoY -12.1%)
    Operating profit¥1,650 million (YoY -27.7%)
  • Polymers and Oligomers
    Net Sales¥9,153 million (YoY +3.9%)
    Operating profit¥878 million (YoY +39.0%)
  • Adhesive Materials
    Net Sales¥3,543 million (YoY +4.5%)
    Operating profit¥25 million (YoY -83.7%)
  • Advanced materials
    Net Sales¥2,762 million (YoY +14.8%)
    Operating profit¥437 million (YoY +201.4%)
  • Plastics processing products
    Net Sales¥6,881 million (YoY +0.8%)
    Operating profit¥669 million (YoY +33.5%)
  • Other and adjustments
    Net Sales¥596 million (YoY +13.7%)
    Operating profit¥-455 million
Financial targets
Equity ratio
74.9 % as of March 2026
Contents of this document
ItemDetails
Document typeFinancial results presentation
Fiscal Period CoveredFirst quarter of the fiscal year ending December 2026
Net Sales¥38,634 million (YoY -3.0%)
Operating profit¥3,206 million (YoY -4.7%)
Ordinary income¥3,201 million (YoY +0.2%)
Net income¥2,774 million (YoY +38.7%)
Operating profit margin8.3 %
Results for the three months of the current quarterNet Sales ¥38,634 million / Operating profit ¥3,206 million / Ordinary income ¥3,201 million / Net income ¥2,774 million
Segment resultsSegment Basic Chemicals / Net Sales ¥15,697 million (YoY -12.1%) / Operating profit ¥1,650 million (YoY -27.7%), Segment Polymers and Oligomers / Net Sales ¥9,153 million (YoY +3.9%) / Operating profit ¥878 million (YoY +39.0%), Segment Adhesive Materials / Net Sales ¥3,543 million (YoY +4.5%) / Operating profit ¥25 million (YoY -83.7%), Segment Advanced materials / Net Sales ¥2,762 million (YoY +14.8%) / Operating profit ¥437 million (YoY +201.4%), Segment Plastics processing products / Net Sales ¥6,881 million (YoY +0.8%) / Operating profit ¥669 million (YoY +33.5%), Segment Other and adjustments / Net Sales ¥596 million (YoY +13.7%) / Operating profit ¥-455 million
Breakdown of Factors Affecting the ChangeFactors Volume variance / Amount ¥-2.6 100 million, Factors Price variance / Amount ¥10.2 100 million, Factors Fixed-cost variance / Amount ¥-9.2 100 million
Key KPIsIndicator name Year-on-year change in inorganic chemicals sales / Value 102 %, Indicator name Year-on-year change in acrylic monomer sales / Value 83 %, Indicator name Year-on-year change in industrial gas sales / Value 111 %, Indicator name Year-on-year change in polymer sales / Value 112 %, Indicator name Year-on-year change in oligomer sales / Value 97 %, Indicator name Year-on-year change in flocculant sales / Value 102 %, Indicator name Year-on-year change in instant adhesive sales / Value 103 %, Indicator name Year-on-year change in functional adhesive sales / Value 107 %, Indicator name Year-on-year change in functional inorganic materials sales / Value 73 %, Indicator name Year-on-year change in high-purity inorganic chemicals sales / Value 131 %, Indicator name Year-on-year change in new product development sales / Value 184 %, Indicator name Year-on-year change in environmental infrastructure systems sales / Value 106 %, Indicator name Year-on-year change in life support sales / Value 101 %, Indicator name Year-on-year change in eco-materials sales / Value 90 %
Unit price and quantity metricsIndicator name Volume variance in net sales / Value ¥-1,939 million, Indicator name Unit-price variance in net sales / Value ¥751 million, Indicator name Volume variance in operating income / Value ¥-2.6 100 million, Indicator name Unit-price variance in operating income / Value ¥10.2 100 million
Assumptions Underlying the Business OutlookAssumptions JPY/USD / Value 159.9 JPY/USD (31 March 2026), Assumptions ¥/THB / Value 4.88 JPY/THB (31 March 2026), Assumptions Naphtha prices / Value 65,900 JPY/kl (January–March 2026 average)
Financial targetsEquity ratio 74.9 % (as of March 2026)
Items this document does not state (17)
Gross Profit MarginSelling, general and administrative expensesFull-year earnings forecastProgress against full-year forecastSelf-assessment against the planNumber of stores and locationsNumber of employeesRisk amount incorporated into the outlookMedium-term management plan targetsAnnual DividendPayout ratioAcquisition of treasury sharesCapital expendituresOrders received and order backlogMarket Size / ShareKey points of the Q&ANew initiatives

These are items the company does not state in this document. We do not leave them blank, nor fill them in from other sources or by inference.

The reasons the company gives

The company's own explanation, not something inferred from the numbers.

Operating income was affected by a ¥260 million negative volume variance, a ¥1.02 billion positive unit-price variance and a ¥920 million negative fixed-cost variance. Net sales declined, mainly because of lower volumes of basic chemicals. The increase in net income was attributed to improvements in extraordinary gains and losses, including a ¥879 million gain on the sale of property, plant and equipment and ¥337 million in government subsidies.

How to read this page

This is not the documentKomori reads the disclosure the company filed and writes this summary. Figures are as stated by the company and are not audited.
Weight is not a verdictIt measures how much this changes what the company had already told the market. It is not a view on the shares.
Corrections happenIf the company reissues this disclosure, the page is rebuilt from the corrected version and the revision number moves up.
Financial Results Presentation for the First Quarter of the Fiscal Year Ending December 2026 | TOAGOSEI CO.,LTD. (4045) timely disclosure | Komori