Komori
Earnings4008Sumitomo Seika Chemicals Company,Limited.Materials and Chemicals

Summary of Financial Results for the Fiscal Year Ended March 2025 [Japanese GAAP] (Consolidated)

2025年3月期は、売上高と営業利益が前年同期を上回った一方、過剰請求関連費用や減損損失の計上により親会社株主に帰属する当期純利益は減少した。2026年3月期は、売上高・営業利益・経常利益の減少を見込むが、純利益は増加する予想。

Worth reading
49Recurring
Scored from 4 of 6 sections
Direction
Mixed performance
Direction inferred from the company’s description.
Scale
12.4
%
Wording
Conditional
How definitive the wording is.

Results for this period

Full year2024年4月1日〜2025年3月31日ConsolidatedJapanese GAAP
Net Sales147,571¥ millionYear on year +3.2%Progress 101.8%
Operating profit10,712¥ millionYear on year +12.4%Progress 119.0%
Ordinary income11,106¥ millionYear on year +8.4%Progress 120.7%
Net income attributable to owners of the parent5,961¥ millionYear on year -3.3%Progress 89.0%

The width of the band at each stage is based on revenue. The narrower it becomes toward the bottom, the smaller the proportion of revenue that remains as profit. The dotted outline is the full-year forecast and the band inside it is the result for this period. The progress rate is the result divided by the forecast.

Net income per share450円62銭
Operating Margin7.3%
Financial position at period-end
Total assets141,532¥ million
of which net assets 94,312 ¥ millionEquity ratio 66.6%vs. prior year-end -3.1pt

塗りつぶした部分が自己資本比率です。総資産のうち、返済のいらない自前の資金がどれだけかを表します。The thin vertical line indicates the level at the end of the previous fiscal year.

Cash inflows and outflows
Operating+13,681
Investment-20,915
Financials+3,186
Net change-4,048

Stacked from zero: upward is an increase in cash, downward a decrease (in ¥ million).The net change represented by the dotted line is the total of three items, calculated from figures provided by the company.

Cash and cash equivalents at end of period¥16,099 million
Segment revenue
Superabsorbent polymers115,54278.4%
Functional materials31,78921.6%
Segment profit
Superabsorbent polymers8,08875.5%
Functional materials2,62224.5%
Regional sales
Japan39,01926.4%
Asia30,86420.9%
China43,89329.7%
Europe12,9068.7%
North America11,8598.0%
Other9,0286.1%
Outlook and shareholder returns
Full-year earnings forecast
Net Sales¥145,000 million (YoY -1.7%)
Operating profit¥9,000 million (YoY -16.0%)
Ordinary income¥9,200 million (YoY -17.2%)
Net income¥6,700 million (YoY +12.4%)
Annual Dividend Forecast¥200 → ¥200(0.0%)
Payout ratio44.4%
Factors Behind Changes in Business Performance

吸水性樹脂は為替の影響や中国市場における販売数量の増加により増収増益。機能マテリアルは、エレクトロニクスガスの販売数量増加があったものの、IRラテックス事業の終了などにより減収減益。純利益は過剰請求関連費用および減損損失の計上により減益。

Disclosure regarding the going concern assumption

None ("There are no applicable matters.")

Change in accounting policy
基準改正に伴う変更 Yesそれ以外の変更 No見積りの変更 No修正再表示 No
Changes in the scope of consolidationNew Number of companies 0 / Company name Not disclosed / Excluded Number of companies 0 / Company name Not disclosed
Material subsequent eventsNo applicable matters.
Impairment loss¥1,297 million
Breakdown of extraordinary income (loss)Extraordinary income Gain on sale of investment securities ¥62 million, Gain on Reversal of Foreign Currency Translation Adjustment Account upon Liquidation of Foreign Subsidiary ¥60 million, Insurance proceeds received ¥51 million, Gain on sale of non-current assets ¥0 million / Extraordinary loss Expenses related to overbilling ¥1,355 million, Impairment Losses ¥1,297 million, Loss on Disposal of Fixed Assets ¥205 million, Losses from natural disasters ¥98 million
Depreciation and amortization¥5,737 million
Availability of Supplementary Financial Results MaterialsYes
Availability of Financial Results BriefingWhether applicable Yes / Subject person For institutional investors and analysts
Issued Shares at Period-End13,987,220 Shares
Treasury Shares at Period-End880,645 Shares
Results for this period
ItemDetails
Fiscal Period ClassificationFull year
Accounting standardsJapanese GAAP
Consolidated / non-consolidatedConsolidated
Period Covered2024年4月1日〜2025年3月31日
Net Sales¥147,571 million (YoY +3.2%)
Operating profit¥10,712 million (YoY +12.4%)
Ordinary income¥11,106 million (YoY +8.4%)
Profit attributable to owners of the parent¥5,961 million (YoY -3.3%)
Net income per share450円62銭
Operating Margin7.3%
Equity ratioEnd of the current fiscal period 66.6% / End of previous period 69.7%
Total assets¥141,532 million
Net assets¥94,312 million
Cash flows from operating activities¥13,681 million
Cash flows from investing activities¥-20,915 million
Cash flows from financing activities¥3,186 million
Cash and cash equivalents at end of period¥16,099 million
Full-year earnings forecastNet Sales ¥145,000 million (YoY -1.7%) / Operating profit ¥9,000 million (YoY -16.0%) / Ordinary income ¥9,200 million (YoY -17.2%) / Net income ¥6,700 million (YoY +12.4%)
Annual Dividend Forecast¥200 → ¥200(0.0%)
Payout ratio44.4%
Segment revenueSegment Superabsorbent polymers / Net Sales ¥115,542 million (YoY +8.6%), Segment Functional materials / Net Sales ¥31,789 million (YoY -12.3%)
Segment profitSegment Superabsorbent polymers / Segment profit ¥8,088 million (YoY +22.4%), Segment Functional materials / Segment profit ¥2,622 million (YoY -10.0%)
Regional salesRegion Japan / Net Sales ¥39,019 million, Region Asia / Net Sales ¥30,864 million, Region China / Net Sales ¥43,893 million, Region Europe / Net Sales ¥12,906 million, Region North America / Net Sales ¥11,859 million, Region Other / Net Sales ¥9,028 million
Depreciation and amortization¥5,737 million
Impairment loss¥1,297 million
Breakdown of extraordinary income (loss)Extraordinary income Gain on sale of investment securities ¥62 million, Gain on Reversal of Foreign Currency Translation Adjustment Account upon Liquidation of Foreign Subsidiary ¥60 million, Insurance proceeds received ¥51 million, Gain on sale of non-current assets ¥0 million / Extraordinary loss Expenses related to overbilling ¥1,355 million, Impairment Losses ¥1,297 million, Loss on Disposal of Fixed Assets ¥205 million, Losses from natural disasters ¥98 million
Disclosure regarding the going concern assumptionNone ("There are no applicable matters.")
Change in accounting policyChanges due to revisions to standards Yes / Other changes No / Change in accounting estimate No / Restatement No
Changes in the scope of consolidationNew Number of companies 0 / Company name Not disclosed / Excluded Number of companies 0 / Company name Not disclosed
Material subsequent eventsNo applicable matters.
Availability of Supplementary Financial Results MaterialsYes
Availability of Financial Results BriefingWhether applicable Yes / Subject person For institutional investors and analysts
Issued Shares at Period-End13,987,220 Shares
Treasury Shares at Period-End880,645 Shares
Factors Behind Changes in Business Performance吸水性樹脂は為替の影響や中国市場における販売数量の増加により増収増益。機能マテリアルは、エレクトロニクスガスの販売数量増加があったものの、IRラテックス事業の終了などにより減収減益。純利益は過剰請求関連費用および減損損失の計上により減益。
Items this document does not state (3)
Revision to Earnings ForecastShareholder Return PolicyOrders received and order backlog

These are items the company does not state in this document. We do not leave them blank, nor fill them in from other sources or by inference.

The reasons the company gives

The company's own explanation, not something inferred from the numbers.

吸水性樹脂は為替の影響や中国市場での販売数量増加により増収増益となった。機能マテリアルは、エレクトロニクスガスの販売数量増加があったものの、IRラテックス事業の終了などにより減収減益となった。純利益については、製品代金の過剰請求関連費用と機能マテリアル事業の一部製品に関する減損損失を特別損失に計上した。

How to read this page

This is not the documentKomori reads the disclosure the company filed and writes this summary. Figures are as stated by the company and are not audited.
Weight is not a verdictIt measures how much this changes what the company had already told the market. It is not a view on the shares.
Corrections happenIf the company reissues this disclosure, the page is rebuilt from the corrected version and the revision number moves up.
Summary of Financial Results for the Fiscal Year Ended March 2025 [Japanese GAAP] (Consolidated) | Sumitomo Seika Chemicals Company,Limited. (4008) timely disclosure | Komori