Komori
Financial results presentation3861Oji Holdings CorporationMaterials and Chemicals

Materials for the Briefing on Financial Results for the First Quarter of the Fiscal Year Ending March 2027

In the first quarter of FY2026, net sales increased by ¥11.1 billion year on year, while operating income rose by ¥200 million. Ordinary income and net income improved significantly, mainly due to an increase in foreign exchange gains, while the full-year earnings and dividend forecasts remained unchanged.

Worth reading
75Important
0–100. This measures how worthwhile something is to read, not how good or bad the company is.
Direction
Mixed performance
Direction inferred from the company’s description.
Scale
83
¥100 million (year-on-year increase in profit attributable to owners of the parent)
Wording
Conditional
How definitive the wording is.

Contents of this document

Financial results presentationFirst quarter of the fiscal year ending March 202712 items taken from the company’s own explanation
Financial Results Figures (The key points of this material are explained below)
Net Sales4,685 Hundreds of millions of yen
Operating profit39 Hundreds of millions of yen
Ordinary income56 Hundreds of millions of yen
Net income32 Hundreds of millions of yen
Results for the three months of the current quarter
Net Sales
4,685 Hundreds of millions of yen
Operating profit
39 Hundreds of millions of yen
Ordinary income
56 Hundreds of millions of yen
Profit attributable to owners of parent for the quarter
32 Hundreds of millions of yen
Full-year earnings forecast
Net Sales
19,400 Hundreds of millions of yen
Operating profit
600 Hundreds of millions of yen
Ordinary income
450 Hundreds of millions of yen
Profit attributable to owners of the parent
350 Hundreds of millions of yen
ROE
3.3 %
What the company explained in this material
Self-assessment against the planThe company's self-assessment against its own plan.
Generally in line with the initial forecast as of 15 May 2026
Breakdown of Factors Affecting the ChangeReasons cited by the Company for the change in the figures.
  • Selling price variance105 Hundreds of millions of yen
  • Volume variance-20 Hundreds of millions of yen
  • Raw material and fuel price differential-35 Hundreds of millions of yen
  • Cost variance and other factors-44 Hundreds of millions of yen
  • Total change in operating income of domestic companies6 Hundreds of millions of yen
  • Total change in operating income of overseas companies-4 Hundreds of millions of yen
Assumptions Underlying the Business OutlookThe assumptions used by the company in preparing its forecast.
  • Assumed exchange rate for FY2026 (US dollar)155 JPY/USD
  • NBKP price for China (January–March 2026)673 USD/t
  • NBKP price for China (April–June 2026)650 USD/t
  • LBKP price for China (January–March 2026)595 USD/t
  • LBKP price for China (April–June 2026)622 USD/t
  • NUKP price for China (January–March 2026)580 USD/t
  • NUKP price for China (April–June 2026)547 USD/t
New initiatives
  • Company-wide additional cost reduction projects outside the FY2026 budget
  • Investment projects in strategic areas, growth fields, high-value-added products, and sustainable packaging
  • Withdrawal from low-profitability businesses and restructuring of the production system
  • Additional share repurchases and cancellation of shares equivalent to 9.9% of total shares issued (100 million shares)
Key KPIsA metric the company considers important as a management benchmark.
  • Exchange rate (period average, ¥/US$)¥159.6 /US$
    Year on year against the same period last year+15.0%
  • Number of consolidated subsidiaries (domestic)94 companies
    Year on year against the same period last year0.0%
  • Number of consolidated subsidiaries (overseas)120 companies
    Year on year against the same period last year-2.0%
  • Total number of consolidated subsidiaries214 companies
    Year on year against the same period last year-2.0%
Segment results
  • Consumer and Industrial Materials
    Net Sales2,379 Hundreds of millions of yen
    Operating profit58 Hundreds of millions of yen
    Year-on-year change in revenue81 Hundreds of millions of yen
    Year-on-year operating profit growth56 Hundreds of millions of yen
  • Functional Materials
    Net Sales594 Hundreds of millions of yen
    Operating profit40 Hundreds of millions of yen
    Year-on-year change in revenue16 Hundreds of millions of yen
    Year-on-year operating profit growth12 Hundreds of millions of yen
  • Resources and Environment Business
    Net Sales982 Hundreds of millions of yen
    Operating profit16 Hundreds of millions of yen
    Year-on-year change in revenue26 Hundreds of millions of yen
    Year-on-year operating profit growth-8 Hundreds of millions of yen
  • Printing and Information Media
    Net Sales606 Hundreds of millions of yen
    Operating profit-33 Hundreds of millions of yen
    Year-on-year change in revenue-72 Hundreds of millions of yen
    Year-on-year operating profit growth-30 Hundreds of millions of yen
  • Other
    Net Sales124 Hundreds of millions of yen
    Operating profit-43 Hundreds of millions of yen
    Year-on-year change in revenue60 Hundreds of millions of yen
    Year-on-year operating profit growth-28 Hundreds of millions of yen
Medium-term management plan targets
The company states that it aims to achieve the numerical targets of its Medium-Term Management Plan 2027, but the target values are not disclosed
Financial targets
ROE
FY2026 forecast3.3 %
Risk amount incorporated into the outlookThe amount representing the range of variation the company expects in its forecast.
Impact of the situation in the Middle East on full-year earnings for FY2026¥-150 billion/year
Annual Dividend
Annual
¥36 per share
Dividend floor under the Medium-Term Management Plan policy
¥24 per share
Payout ratio
50 %
Acquisition of treasury shares
Repurchase target
¥1,500 100 million cumulative total for FY2024–FY2027
FY2026 cumulative target
1,000 Hundreds of millions of yen
Additional implementation planned by the end of FY2027
500 Hundreds of millions of yen
Actual resultsFY2026 target achieved in May
Contents of this document
ItemDetails
Document typeFinancial results presentation
Fiscal Period CoveredFirst quarter of the fiscal year ending March 2027
Net Sales4,685 Hundreds of millions of yen
Operating profit39 Hundreds of millions of yen
Ordinary income56 Hundreds of millions of yen
Net income32 Hundreds of millions of yen
Results for the three months of the current quarterNet Sales 4,685 Hundreds of millions of yen / Operating profit 39 Hundreds of millions of yen / Ordinary income 56 Hundreds of millions of yen / Profit attributable to owners of parent for the quarter 32 Hundreds of millions of yen
Full-year earnings forecastNet Sales 19,400 Hundreds of millions of yen / Operating profit 600 Hundreds of millions of yen / Ordinary income 450 Hundreds of millions of yen / Profit attributable to owners of the parent 350 Hundreds of millions of yen / ROE 3.3 %
Self-assessment against the planGenerally in line with the initial forecast as of 15 May 2026
Segment resultsSegment Consumer and Industrial Materials / Net Sales 2,379 Hundreds of millions of yen / Operating profit 58 Hundreds of millions of yen / Year-on-year change in revenue 81 Hundreds of millions of yen / Year-on-year operating profit growth 56 Hundreds of millions of yen, Segment Functional Materials / Net Sales 594 Hundreds of millions of yen / Operating profit 40 Hundreds of millions of yen / Year-on-year change in revenue 16 Hundreds of millions of yen / Year-on-year operating profit growth 12 Hundreds of millions of yen, Segment Resources and Environment Business / Net Sales 982 Hundreds of millions of yen / Operating profit 16 Hundreds of millions of yen / Year-on-year change in revenue 26 Hundreds of millions of yen / Year-on-year operating profit growth -8 Hundreds of millions of yen, Segment Printing and Information Media / Net Sales 606 Hundreds of millions of yen / Operating profit -33 Hundreds of millions of yen / Year-on-year change in revenue -72 Hundreds of millions of yen / Year-on-year operating profit growth -30 Hundreds of millions of yen, Segment Other / Net Sales 124 Hundreds of millions of yen / Operating profit -43 Hundreds of millions of yen / Year-on-year change in revenue 60 Hundreds of millions of yen / Year-on-year operating profit growth -28 Hundreds of millions of yen
Breakdown of Factors Affecting the ChangeFactors Selling price variance / Amount 105 Hundreds of millions of yen, Factors Volume variance / Amount -20 Hundreds of millions of yen, Factors Raw material and fuel price differential / Amount -35 Hundreds of millions of yen, Factors Cost variance and other factors / Amount -44 Hundreds of millions of yen, Factors Total change in operating income of domestic companies / Amount 6 Hundreds of millions of yen, Factors Total change in operating income of overseas companies / Amount -4 Hundreds of millions of yen
Key KPIsIndicator name Exchange rate (period average, ¥/US$) / Value ¥159.6 /US$ / Year on year against the same period last year ¥15 /US$, Indicator name Number of consolidated subsidiaries (domestic) / Value 94 companies / Year on year against the same period last year 0 companies, Indicator name Number of consolidated subsidiaries (overseas) / Value 120 companies / Year on year against the same period last year -2 companies, Indicator name Total number of consolidated subsidiaries / Value 214 companies / Year on year against the same period last year -2 companies
Assumptions Underlying the Business OutlookItem Assumed exchange rate for FY2026 (US dollar) / Value 155 JPY/USD, Item NBKP price for China (January–March 2026) / Value 673 USD/t, Item NBKP price for China (April–June 2026) / Value 650 USD/t, Item LBKP price for China (January–March 2026) / Value 595 USD/t, Item LBKP price for China (April–June 2026) / Value 622 USD/t, Item NUKP price for China (January–March 2026) / Value 580 USD/t, Item NUKP price for China (April–June 2026) / Value 547 USD/t
Risk amount incorporated into the outlookItem Impact of the situation in the Middle East on full-year earnings for FY2026 / Amount ¥-150 billion/year
Medium-term management plan targetsThe company states that it aims to achieve the numerical targets of its Medium-Term Management Plan 2027, but the target values are not disclosed
Financial targetsROE FY2026 forecast 3.3 %
Annual DividendAnnual ¥36 per share / Dividend floor under the Medium-Term Management Plan policy ¥24 per share
Payout ratio50 %
Acquisition of treasury sharesRepurchase target ¥1,500 100 million (cumulative total for FY2024–FY2027) / FY2026 cumulative target 1,000 Hundreds of millions of yen / Additional implementation planned by the end of FY2027 500 Hundreds of millions of yen / Actual results FY2026 target achieved in May
New initiativesCompany-wide additional cost reduction projects outside the FY2026 budget, Investment projects in strategic areas, growth fields, high-value-added products, and sustainable packaging, Withdrawal from low-profitability businesses and restructuring of the production system, Additional share repurchases and cancellation of shares equivalent to 9.9% of total shares issued (100 million shares)
Items this document does not state (11)
Gross Profit MarginOperating profit marginSelling, general and administrative expensesProgress against full-year forecastUnit price and quantity metricsNumber of stores and locationsNumber of employeesCapital expendituresOrders received and order backlogMarket Size / ShareKey points of the Q&A

These are items the company does not state in this document. We do not leave them blank, nor fill them in from other sources or by inference.

The reasons the company gives

The company's own explanation, not something inferred from the numbers.

The full-year impact of domestic price revisions, an increase in foreign exchange gains from the revaluation of foreign-currency-denominated receivables and payables, and a decrease in business structure improvement costs contributed to the increase in profit. Meanwhile, the impact of the situation in the Middle East, Cenibra's extended SD, raw material and fuel price variances, and volume variances put downward pressure on operating income.

How to read this page

This is not the documentKomori reads the disclosure the company filed and writes this summary. Figures are as stated by the company and are not audited.
Weight is not a verdictIt measures how much this changes what the company had already told the market. It is not a view on the shares.
Corrections happenIf the company reissues this disclosure, the page is rebuilt from the corrected version and the revision number moves up.
Materials for the Briefing on Financial Results for the First Quarter of the Fiscal Year Ending March 2027 | Oji Holdings Corporation (3861) timely disclosure | Komori