Komori
Earnings presentation3634Sockets Inc.Information and Communications, Services and Others

Earnings Presentation Materials for the First Quarter of the Fiscal Year Ending March 2027

In the first quarter, revenue increased, driven mainly by the music data services business, and the Company swung to profitability from an operating loss and ordinary loss in the same period of the previous year. Gross margin and operating margin also improved, while the Company continued efforts to improve the profitability of existing businesses and develop new products and PoC projects for its IP data technology business.

Worth reading
58In focus
0–100. This measures how worthwhile something is to read, not how good or bad the company is.
Direction
Improvement
Direction inferred from the company’s description.
Scale
20
Millions of yen (year-on-year change in operating profit)
Wording
Conditional
How definitive the wording is.

Contents of this document

Earnings presentationFirst quarter of the fiscal year ending March 20277 items taken from the company’s own explanation
Financial Results Figures (The key points of this material are explained below)
Net Sales¥264 million+1.2%
Operating profit¥17 million
Ordinary income¥17 million
Net income¥11 million
Gross Profit Margin50.3%
Operating profit margin6.5%
Selling, general and administrative expenses¥115 million
Results for the three months of the current quarter
Net Sales¥264 million
Gross profit¥133 million
Operating profit¥17 million
Ordinary income¥17 million
Net income for the current fiscal year¥11 million
Full-year earnings forecast
Net Sales¥1,100 million
Operating profit¥65 million
Ordinary income¥67 million
Net income for the current fiscal year¥56 million
Operating profit margin5.9%
Progress against full-year forecast 通期の予想に対して、いまどこまで進んだかの割合です。
Net SalesApproximately 24%
Operating profitApproximately 26%
Ordinary incomeApproximately 26%
What the company explained in this material
Self-assessment against the planThe company's self-assessment against its own plan.
Revenue and profit are progressing slightly ahead of plan toward the full year
Breakdown of Factors Affecting the ChangeReasons cited by the Company for the change in the figures.
Increase in gross profitIncreased from ¥117 million to ¥133 million
Decrease in SG&A expensesDecreased from ¥120 million to ¥115 million
New initiatives
  • Development and testing of 3 new product candidates
  • Commercialization and productization of the entertainment DMP’s PoC
  • Development of next-generation recommendation functions
  • Development of a content quality-assurance data tool
  • Promotion of the AI training data business
  • Promotion of IP content creation and production support, publishing functions, and joint production
  • Appointment of new directors
  • Application for a secondary listing on the Fukuoka Stock Exchange
Key KPIsA metric the company considers important as a management benchmark.
  • Gross Margin50.3%
    Year on year against the same period last year+5.5 percentage points
  • Operating margin6.5%
    Year on year against the same period last year+8.0 percentage points
  • SG&A ratio43.8%
    Year on year against the same period last year-2.5 percentage points
  • Number of entertainment DMP PoCs6 Engagements
  • Progress in preparing data for delivery to global markets90%
Segment results
Music data services
Year-on-year change in gross profit115%
Video data services
Year-on-year change in gross profit105%
Sensory marketing services
Year-on-year change in gross profit1,354%
Medium-term management plan targets
Gross MarginAt least 60%
Revenue growth20% or higher
Operating profit margin25–30% (medium-term target); at least 6% this fiscal year, reaching 10% at an early stage
SG&A ratio30–35% range over the medium term
Annual Dividend
Annual dividend per share¥6
Previous-year actual¥3
Contents of this document
ItemDetails
Document typeEarnings presentation
Fiscal Period CoveredFirst quarter of the fiscal year ending March 2027
Net Sales¥264 million (YoY +1.2%)
Operating profit¥17 million
Ordinary income¥17 million
Net income¥11 million
Gross Profit Margin50.3%
Operating profit margin6.5%
Selling, general and administrative expenses¥115 million
Results for the three months of the current quarterNet Sales ¥264 million / Gross profit ¥133 million / Operating profit ¥17 million / Ordinary income ¥17 million / Net income for the current fiscal year ¥11 million
Full-year earnings forecastNet Sales ¥1,100 million / Operating profit ¥65 million / Ordinary income ¥67 million / Net income for the current fiscal year ¥56 million / Operating profit margin 5.9%
Progress against full-year forecastNet Sales Approximately 24% / Operating profit Approximately 26% / Ordinary income Approximately 26%
Self-assessment against the planRevenue and profit are progressing slightly ahead of plan toward the full year
Segment resultsMusic data services Year-on-year change in gross profit 115% / Video data services Year-on-year change in gross profit 105% / Sensory marketing services Year-on-year change in gross profit 1,354%
Breakdown of Factors Affecting the ChangeIncrease in gross profit Increased from ¥117 million to ¥133 million / Decrease in SG&A expenses Decreased from ¥120 million to ¥115 million
Key KPIsIndicator name Gross Margin / Value 50.3% / Year on year against the same period last year +5.5 percentage points, Indicator name Operating margin / Value 6.5% / Year on year against the same period last year +8.0 percentage points, Indicator name SG&A ratio / Value 43.8% / Year on year against the same period last year -2.5 percentage points, Indicator name Number of entertainment DMP PoCs / Value 6 Engagements / Year on year against the same period last year Not disclosed, Indicator name Progress in preparing data for delivery to global markets / Value 90% / Year on year against the same period last year Not disclosed
Medium-term management plan targetsGross Margin At least 60% / Revenue growth 20% or higher / Operating profit margin 25–30% (medium-term target); at least 6% this fiscal year, reaching 10% at an early stage / SG&A ratio 30–35% range over the medium term
Annual DividendAnnual dividend per share ¥6 / Previous-year actual ¥3
New initiativesDevelopment and testing of 3 new product candidates, Commercialization and productization of the entertainment DMP’s PoC, Development of next-generation recommendation functions, Development of a content quality-assurance data tool, Promotion of the AI training data business, Promotion of IP content creation and production support, publishing functions, and joint production, Appointment of new directors, Application for a secondary listing on the Fukuoka Stock Exchange
Items this document does not state (12)
Unit price and quantity metricsNumber of stores and locationsNumber of employeesAssumptions Underlying the Business OutlookRisk amount incorporated into the outlookFinancial targetsPayout ratioAcquisition of treasury sharesCapital expendituresOrders received and order backlogMarket Size / ShareKey points of the Q&A

These are items the company does not state in this document. We do not leave them blank, nor fill them in from other sources or by inference.

The reasons the company gives

The company's own explanation, not something inferred from the numbers.

Profitability improved as the music data services business expanded, gross profit increased, operations and business processes were improved across each business, the cost structure was reformed, and productivity increased. The Company also explained that upfront investments in certain PoC projects involving consumer-sentiment marketing and the entertainment DMP are beginning to generate returns.

How to read this page

This is not the documentKomori reads the disclosure the company filed and writes this summary. Figures are as stated by the company and are not audited.
Weight is not a verdictIt measures how much this changes what the company had already told the market. It is not a view on the shares.
Corrections happenIf the company reissues this disclosure, the page is rebuilt from the corrected version and the revision number moves up.
Earnings Presentation Materials for the First Quarter of the Fiscal Year Ending March 2027 | Sockets Inc. (3634) timely disclosure | Komori