Komori
Earnings3501SUMINOE Co.,Ltd.Materials and Chemicals

Summary of Financial Results for the Second Quarter (Six-Month Period) of the Fiscal Year Ending May 2025 [Japanese GAAP] (Consolidated)

For the six months ended May 2024, net sales fell 1.4% year on year and operating profit fell 47.2%. Including foreign exchange losses, ordinary profit fell 73.6% and interim net income attributable to owners of the parent fell 91.3%.

Worth reading
66In focus
Scored from 5 of 6 sections
Direction
Deterioration
Direction inferred from the company’s description.
Scale
47.2
Year-on-year decline in operating profit (%)
Wording
Conditional
How definitive the wording is.

Results for this period

Interim period (second quarter)2024年6月1日〜2024年11月30日ConsolidatedJapanese GAAP
Net Sales50,698¥ millionYear on year -1.4%Progress 48.1%
Operating profit742¥ millionYear on year -47.2%Progress 22.5%
Ordinary income446¥ millionYear on year -73.6%Progress 13.1%
Net income attributable to owners of the parent65¥ millionYear on year -91.3%

The width of the band at each stage is based on revenue. The narrower it becomes toward the bottom, the smaller the proportion of revenue that remains as profit. The dotted outline is the full-year forecast and the band inside it is the result for this period. The progress rate is the result divided by the forecast.

Net income per share¥9.78
Financial position at period-end
Total assets92,085¥ million
of which net assets 36,532 ¥ millionEquity ratio 33.3%vs. prior year-end -1.4pt

塗りつぶした部分が自己資本比率です。総資産のうち、返済のいらない自前の資金がどれだけかを表します。The thin vertical line indicates the level at the end of the previous fiscal year.

Cash inflows and outflows
Operating-1,130
Investment-549
Financials+1,470
Net change-209

Stacked from zero: upward is an increase in cash, downward a decrease (in ¥ million).The net change represented by the dotted line is the total of three items, calculated from figures provided by the company.

Cash and cash equivalents at end of period¥7,965 million
Segment revenueInterior Business ¥17,679 million (YoY +0.3%), Automotive and vehicle interiors business ¥31,157 million (YoY -1.2%), Functional materials business ¥1,636 million (YoY -20.9%), Other ¥225 million (YoY +20.8%)
Segment profitInterior Business ¥74 million (YoY -61.6%), Automotive and vehicle interiors business ¥1,707 million (YoY -19.8%), Functional materials business ¥-31 million, Other ¥36 million (YoY +6.4%)
Outlook and shareholder returns
Full-year earnings forecast
Net Sales¥105,300 million (YoY +1.8%)
Operating profit¥3,300 million (YoY -0.0%)
Ordinary income¥3,400 million (YoY -7.3%)
Profit attributable to owners of the parent¥1,500 million (YoY +71.5%)
Net income per share112円37銭
Annual Dividend Forecast70円00銭(2024年5月期実績) → 80円00銭(株式分割を考慮しない場合)/期末20円00銭、年間合計―(株式分割考慮後)(+14.3%)
Factors Behind Changes in Business Performance

日系自動車メーカーの生産台数減少と一般家庭向け商材の不振による減収、原材料価格の高騰・輸送費用の増加、為替差損や持分法による投資損失の計上

Disclosure regarding the going concern assumption

No applicable matters ("There are no applicable matters")

Change in accounting policy
基準改正に伴う変更 Noそれ以外の変更 No見積りの変更 No修正再表示 No
Changes in the scope of consolidationNew 1 / Name of newly added company 株式会社わかたけ / Excluded 0 / Excluded Company Name Not disclosed
Material subsequent events2025年3月1日を効力発生日として、普通株式1株につき2株の割合で株式分割を実施する予定
Breakdown of extraordinary income (loss)Extraordinary income Gain on sale of non-current assets ¥56 million, Gain on sale of investment securities ¥310 million, Reversal of provision for loss on sale of shares of affiliates ¥75 million / Extraordinary loss Loss on disposal and sale of non-current assets ¥15 million, Impairment loss on investment securities ¥21 million
Depreciation and amortization¥1,098 million
Availability of Supplementary Financial Results MaterialsNo
Availability of Financial Results BriefingAvailable (for institutional investors and analysts)
Issued Shares at Period-End7,682,162
Treasury Shares at Period-End1,059,757
Results for this period
ItemDetails
Fiscal Period ClassificationInterim period (second quarter)
Accounting standardsJapanese GAAP
Consolidated / non-consolidatedConsolidated
Period Covered2024年6月1日〜2024年11月30日
Net Sales¥50,698 million (YoY -1.4%)
Operating profit¥742 million (YoY -47.2%)
Ordinary income¥446 million (YoY -73.6%)
Profit attributable to owners of the parent¥65 million (YoY -91.3%)
Net income per share¥9.78
Equity ratioEnd of the current fiscal period 33.3 / End of previous period 34.7
Total assets¥92,085 million
Net assets¥36,532 million
Cash flows from operating activities¥-1,130 million
Cash flows from investing activities¥-549 million
Cash flows from financing activities¥1,470 million
Cash and cash equivalents at end of period¥7,965 million
Full-year earnings forecastNet Sales ¥105,300 million (YoY +1.8%) / Operating profit ¥3,300 million (YoY -0.0%) / Ordinary income ¥3,400 million (YoY -7.3%) / Profit attributable to owners of the parent ¥1,500 million (YoY +71.5%) / Net income per share 112円37銭
Annual Dividend Forecast70円00銭(2024年5月期実績) → 80円00銭(株式分割を考慮しない場合)/期末20円00銭、年間合計―(株式分割考慮後)(+14.3%)
Segment revenueInterior Business ¥17,679 million (YoY +0.3%), Automotive and vehicle interiors business ¥31,157 million (YoY -1.2%), Functional materials business ¥1,636 million (YoY -20.9%), Other ¥225 million (YoY +20.8%)
Segment profitInterior Business ¥74 million (YoY -61.6%), Automotive and vehicle interiors business ¥1,707 million (YoY -19.8%), Functional materials business ¥-31 million, Other ¥36 million (YoY +6.4%)
Depreciation and amortization¥1,098 million
Breakdown of extraordinary income (loss)Extraordinary income Gain on sale of non-current assets ¥56 million, Gain on sale of investment securities ¥310 million, Reversal of provision for loss on sale of shares of affiliates ¥75 million / Extraordinary loss Loss on disposal and sale of non-current assets ¥15 million, Impairment loss on investment securities ¥21 million
Disclosure regarding the going concern assumptionNo applicable matters ("There are no applicable matters")
Change in accounting policyChanges due to revisions to standards No / Other changes No / Change in accounting estimate No / Restatement No
Changes in the scope of consolidationNew 1 / Name of newly added company 株式会社わかたけ / Excluded 0 / Excluded Company Name Not disclosed
Material subsequent events2025年3月1日を効力発生日として、普通株式1株につき2株の割合で株式分割を実施する予定
Availability of Supplementary Financial Results MaterialsNo
Availability of Financial Results BriefingAvailable (for institutional investors and analysts)
Issued Shares at Period-End7,682,162
Treasury Shares at Period-End1,059,757
Factors Behind Changes in Business Performance日系自動車メーカーの生産台数減少と一般家庭向け商材の不振による減収、原材料価格の高騰・輸送費用の増加、為替差損や持分法による投資損失の計上
Items this document does not state (7)
Operating MarginRevision to Earnings ForecastPayout ratioShareholder Return PolicyRegional salesOrders received and order backlogImpairment loss

These are items the company does not state in this document. We do not leave them blank, nor fill them in from other sources or by inference.

The reasons the company gives

The company's own explanation, not something inferred from the numbers.

日系自動車メーカーの生産台数減少や一般家庭向け商材の不振で減収となり、原材料価格の高騰や輸送費用の増加が営業利益を押し下げた。さらに、為替相場の大幅な変動に伴う為替差損や持分法による投資損失を計上した。

How to read this page

This is not the documentKomori reads the disclosure the company filed and writes this summary. Figures are as stated by the company and are not audited.
Weight is not a verdictIt measures how much this changes what the company had already told the market. It is not a view on the shares.
Corrections happenIf the company reissues this disclosure, the page is rebuilt from the corrected version and the revision number moves up.
Summary of Financial Results for the Second Quarter (Six-Month Period) of the Fiscal Year Ending May 2025 [Japanese GAAP] (Consolidated) | SUMINOE Co.,Ltd. (3501) timely disclosure | Komori