Komori
Presentation materials on financial results2936BASE FOOD,Inc.Food

Full-Year Financial Results Presentation for the Fiscal Year Ending February 2026

For the fiscal year ended February 2026, revenue was largely flat as the company restrained advertising spend, while operating profit and net income increased substantially due to cost reductions and lower fixed costs. For the fiscal year ending February 2027, revenue is expected to grow, but operating profit is forecast to decline due to higher advertising and equipment-related expenses.

Worth reading
75Important
Scored from 5 of 6 sections
Direction
Mixed performance
Direction inferred from the company’s description.
Scale
59.3
% (year-on-year change in full-year operating profit)
Wording
Avoiding a definitive answer
How definitive the wording is.

Contents of this document

Presentation materials on financial resultsFull fiscal year ended February 202610 items taken from the company’s own explanation
Financial Results Figures (The key points of this material are explained below)
Net Sales151.9 Hundred millions of yen-0.3%
Operating profit2.1 Hundred millions of yen+59.3%
Net income2.6 Hundred millions of yen+140.8%
Gross Profit Margin56.6%
Operating profit margin1.4%
Results for the three months of the current quarter
Net Sales¥3.75 billion (YoY +2.5%)
Gross profit¥2.09 billion, gross margin 55.9%
Advertising expenses¥630 million, expense ratio 16.8%
Operating profit¥170 million, operating margin 4.7%
Full-year earnings forecast
Fiscal year ending February 2027
Net Sales¥16.25 billion
Gross profit¥8.97 billion
Operating profit¥60 million
What the company explained in this material
Self-assessment against the planThe company's self-assessment against its own plan.
Revenue was slightly below the revised forecast, while operating profit exceeded the forecast
Breakdown of Factors Affecting the ChangeReasons cited by the Company for the change in the figures.
  • Restraint in advertising spend
  • Cost-reduction initiatives
  • Fixed-Cost Reduction
  • Lower outsourcing and personnel expenses through the use of AI
  • SBIR grant
Assumptions Underlying the Business OutlookThe assumptions used by the company in preparing its forecast.
  • Reactivation of former subscribers and acquisition of new subscribers through the renewal of core products
  • Expansion of the lineup of third-party products on the company’s e-commerce platform
  • Growth in the number of wholesale stores rolled out and sales per store
  • Launch of sales in China based on a partnership with a leading local food company
New initiatives
  • Capital and business alliance with 株式会社メルコグループ
  • Secondment of corporate personnel from 株式会社メルコグループ
  • Introduction of performance-linked stock options
  • Renewal of core products
  • Launch of sales in China based on a partnership with a leading local food company
Key KPIsA metric the company considers important as a management benchmark.
  • Number of subscribers23.5 10,000 people
    Year on year against the same period last yearUp 18,000 from the previous fiscal year-end
  • Churn rateRecord low
    Year on year against the same period last yearImproved
  • LTVRecord-high level
    Year on year against the same period last yearImproved
  • Number of stores in operation47,500 stores or more
  • Number of Hong Kong 7-Eleven stores introduced500 Location
    Year on year against the same period last yearUp 250 stores from the previous fiscal year-end
Unit price and quantity metricsThese figures show sales broken down by price and volume.
  • Number of subscribers
  • Average Revenue per Customer
  • Number of items per order
  • Monthly sales per store
Medium-term management plan targets
Targeting sales growth of 10–30% from the fiscal year ending February 2027 onward
Market Size / Share
  • Domestic target market of approximately ¥400 billion
  • Market of approximately ¥297 billion addressable through retail stores and e-commerce
  • Long-term assumed market size of approximately ¥130 billion
  • Approximately ¥40 billion in sales at a market share of around 30%
Number of stores and locations
Number of Stores at Period-EndApproximately 47,500 stores (as of the end of February 2026)
Hong Kong 7-Eleven500 stores, up 250 from the previous fiscal year-end
Acquisition of treasury shares
Treasury shares are expected to be allocated to performance-linked stock options. The acquisition limit and acquisition period are Not disclosed
Contents of this document
ItemDetails
Document typePresentation materials on financial results
Fiscal Period CoveredFull fiscal year ended February 2026
Net Sales151.9 Hundred millions of yen (YoY -0.3%)
Operating profit2.1 Hundred millions of yen (YoY +59.3%)
Net income2.6 Hundred millions of yen (YoY +140.8%)
Gross Profit Margin56.6%
Operating profit margin1.4%
Results for the three months of the current quarterNet Sales ¥3.75 billion (YoY +2.5%) / Gross profit ¥2.09 billion, gross margin 55.9% / Advertising expenses ¥630 million, expense ratio 16.8% / Operating profit ¥170 million, operating margin 4.7%
Full-year earnings forecastFiscal year ending February 2027 Net Sales ¥16.25 billion / Gross profit ¥8.97 billion / Operating profit ¥60 million
Self-assessment against the planRevenue was slightly below the revised forecast, while operating profit exceeded the forecast
Breakdown of Factors Affecting the ChangeRestraint in advertising spend, Cost-reduction initiatives, Fixed-Cost Reduction, Lower outsourcing and personnel expenses through the use of AI, SBIR grant
Key KPIsIndicator name Number of subscribers / Value 23.5 10,000 people / Year on year against the same period last year Up 18,000 from the previous fiscal year-end, Indicator name Churn rate / Value Record low / Year on year against the same period last year Improved, Indicator name LTV / Value Record-high level / Year on year against the same period last year Improved, Indicator name Number of stores in operation / Value 47,500 stores or more / Year on year against the same period last year Not disclosed, Indicator name Number of Hong Kong 7-Eleven stores introduced / Value 500 Location / Year on year against the same period last year Up 250 stores from the previous fiscal year-end
Unit price and quantity metricsNumber of subscribers, Average Revenue per Customer, Number of items per order, Monthly sales per store
Number of stores and locationsNumber of Stores at Period-End Approximately 47,500 stores (as of the end of February 2026) / Number of store openings and closures during the period Not disclosed / Hong Kong 7-Eleven 500 stores, up 250 from the previous fiscal year-end
Assumptions Underlying the Business OutlookReactivation of former subscribers and acquisition of new subscribers through the renewal of core products, Expansion of the lineup of third-party products on the company’s e-commerce platform, Growth in the number of wholesale stores rolled out and sales per store, Launch of sales in China based on a partnership with a leading local food company
Medium-term management plan targetsTargeting sales growth of 10–30% from the fiscal year ending February 2027 onward
Acquisition of treasury sharesTreasury shares are expected to be allocated to performance-linked stock options. The acquisition limit and acquisition period are Not disclosed
Market Size / ShareDomestic target market of approximately ¥400 billion, Market of approximately ¥297 billion addressable through retail stores and e-commerce, Long-term assumed market size of approximately ¥130 billion, Approximately ¥40 billion in sales at a market share of around 30%
New initiativesCapital and business alliance with 株式会社メルコグループ, Secondment of corporate personnel from 株式会社メルコグループ, Introduction of performance-linked stock options, Renewal of core products, Launch of sales in China based on a partnership with a leading local food company
Items this document does not state (12)
Ordinary incomeSelling, general and administrative expensesProgress against full-year forecastSegment resultsNumber of employeesRisk amount incorporated into the outlookFinancial targetsAnnual DividendPayout ratioCapital expendituresOrders received and order backlogKey points of the Q&A

These are items the company does not state in this document. We do not leave them blank, nor fill them in from other sources or by inference.

The reasons the company gives

The company's own explanation, not something inferred from the numbers.

Revenue growth was sluggish because the company restrained advertising spend in response to changes in advertising market conditions, while the launch of new products in wholesale sales was delayed. Operating profit increased due to more efficient advertising operations, cost reductions, lower outsourcing and personnel expenses through the use of AI, and fixed-cost reductions. Net income increased due to higher operating profit and the recognition of an SBIR grant.

How to read this page

This is not the documentKomori reads the disclosure the company filed and writes this summary. Figures are as stated by the company and are not audited.
Weight is not a verdictIt measures how much this changes what the company had already told the market. It is not a view on the shares.
Corrections happenIf the company reissues this disclosure, the page is rebuilt from the corrected version and the revision number moves up.
Full-Year Financial Results Presentation for the Fiscal Year Ending February 2026 | BASE FOOD,Inc. (2936) timely disclosure | Komori