Komori
Presentation materials for financial results2918WARABEYA NICHIYO HOLDINGS CO.,LTD.Food

Supplementary Financial Results Material for the First Quarter of the Fiscal Year Ending February 2027

In the first quarter of the fiscal year ending February 2027, revenue exceeded the year-earlier period despite the suspension of operations at the Sapporo Plant. However, higher manufacturing costs outweighed the improvement from revising product specifications, resulting in lower operating income.

Worth reading
53Recurring
0–100. This measures how worthwhile something is to read, not how good or bad the company is.
Direction
Mixed performance
Direction inferred from the company’s description.
Scale
-594
Millions of yen (year-on-year change in operating profit)
Wording
Conditional
How definitive the wording is.

Contents of this document

Supplementary materials to the earnings reportFirst quarter of the fiscal year ending February 202710 items taken from the company’s own explanation
Financial Results Figures (The key points of this material are explained below)
Net Sales¥58,354 million+1.5%
Operating profit¥1,653 million-26.4%
Ordinary income¥1,587 million-22.1%
Net income¥963 million-36.6%
Operating profit margin2.8 %
Results for the three months of the current quarter
Net Sales
¥58,354 million
Operating profit
¥1,653 million
Ordinary income
¥1,587 million
Net income
¥963 million
Full-year earnings forecast
Net Sales
¥241,000 million
Operating profit
¥7,700 million
Ordinary income
¥7,650 million
Net income
¥4,800 million
EPS
¥277.2
What the company explained in this material
Breakdown of Factors Affecting the ChangeReasons cited by the Company for the change in the figures.
Operating profit
Increase in manufacturing costs-29.2
Raw material prices-23.6
Personnel Expenses-3.4
Utilities and logistics costs-2.2
Product specification revisions and revenue growth22.8
Improvement in the Isezaki Plant's profitability5.8
Costs associated with closing the Murayama No. 2 Plant-0.5
Factory Reorganization-1.1
Sapporo Plant (including the Sapporo-Nishi Plant)-0.7
System replacement and enhanced security-2.6
Maintenance expenses and other costs-0.5
Overseas-related businesses and other operations0
Assumptions Underlying the Business OutlookThe assumptions used by the company in preparing its forecast.
US$/yen exchange rate
¥155 /US$
Foreign exchange sensitivity
¥16 millions annual impact on operating profit of a ¥1 depreciation of the yen
New initiatives
  • The Sapporo-Nishi Plant began operations on 25 May 2026 as a temporary production facility dedicated to prepared bread products
Key KPIsA metric the company considers important as a management benchmark.
Number of stores supplied by the domestic food-related business
18,428 stores+0.9%
Number of stores supplied in the United States
2,146 stores-3.0%
Foreign exchange conversion rate
¥156.9 /US$
Segment results
Food-Related Business
Net Sales
523 Hundreds of millions of yen
Operating profit
15.1 Hundreds of millions of yen
Year-on-year change in revenue+¥600 million
Year-on-year operating profit growth-¥590 million
Food-materials-related business
Net Sales
28 Hundreds of millions of yen
Operating profit
0.5 Hundreds of millions of yen
Year-on-year change in revenue+¥0.0 billion
Year-on-year operating profit growth-¥60 million
Logistics-related business
Net Sales
32 Hundreds of millions of yen
Operating profit
3 Hundreds of millions of yen
Year-on-year change in revenue+¥0.0 billion
Year-on-year operating profit growth+¥50 million
Number of stores and locations
Number of stores supplied by the domestic food-related business
End of period18,428 stores
Year-on-year change164 stores
Number of stores supplied in the United States
End of period2,146 stores
Year-on-year change-66 stores
Number of employees
Number of Employees1,960 people
As ofFull-year results for the fiscal year ended February 2026
Capital expenditures
¥15,718 million actual for the fiscal year ended February 2026
Annual Dividend
¥120 per share
Payout ratio
43.3 % forecast for the fiscal year ending February 2027
PolicyTargeting a consolidated payout ratio of 40%
Contents of this document
ItemDetails
Document typeSupplementary materials to the earnings report
Fiscal Period CoveredFirst quarter of the fiscal year ending February 2027
Net Sales¥58,354 million (YoY +1.5%)
Operating profit¥1,653 million (YoY -26.4%)
Ordinary income¥1,587 million (YoY -22.1%)
Net income¥963 million (YoY -36.6%)
Operating profit margin2.8 %
Results for the three months of the current quarterNet Sales ¥58,354 million / Operating profit ¥1,653 million / Ordinary income ¥1,587 million / Net income ¥963 million
Full-year earnings forecastNet Sales ¥241,000 million / Operating profit ¥7,700 million / Ordinary income ¥7,650 million / Net income ¥4,800 million / EPS ¥277.2
Segment resultsFood-Related Business Net Sales 523 Hundreds of millions of yen / Operating profit 15.1 Hundreds of millions of yen / Year-on-year change in revenue +¥600 million / Year-on-year operating profit growth -¥590 million / Food-materials-related business Net Sales 28 Hundreds of millions of yen / Operating profit 0.5 Hundreds of millions of yen / Year-on-year change in revenue +¥0.0 billion / Year-on-year operating profit growth -¥60 million / Logistics-related business Net Sales 32 Hundreds of millions of yen / Operating profit 3 Hundreds of millions of yen / Year-on-year change in revenue +¥0.0 billion / Year-on-year operating profit growth +¥50 million
Breakdown of Factors Affecting the ChangeOperating profit Increase in manufacturing costs -29.2 / Raw material prices -23.6 / Personnel Expenses -3.4 / Utilities and logistics costs -2.2 / Product specification revisions and revenue growth 22.8 / Improvement in the Isezaki Plant's profitability 5.8 / Costs associated with closing the Murayama No. 2 Plant -0.5 / Factory Reorganization -1.1 / Sapporo Plant (including the Sapporo-Nishi Plant) -0.7 / System replacement and enhanced security -2.6 / Maintenance expenses and other costs -0.5 / Overseas-related businesses and other operations 0
Key KPIsNumber of stores supplied by the domestic food-related business 18,428 stores (YoY +0.9%) / Number of stores supplied in the United States 2,146 stores (YoY -3.0%) / Foreign exchange conversion rate ¥156.9 /US$
Number of stores and locationsNumber of stores supplied by the domestic food-related business End of period 18,428 stores / Year-on-year change 164 stores / Number of stores supplied in the United States End of period 2,146 stores / Year-on-year change -66 stores / Store and location openings/closures Not disclosed
Number of employeesNumber of Employees 1,960 people / As of Full-year results for the fiscal year ended February 2026 / Changes during the period and hiring plan Not disclosed
Assumptions Underlying the Business OutlookUS$/yen exchange rate ¥155 /US$ / Foreign exchange sensitivity ¥16 millions (annual impact on operating profit of a ¥1 depreciation of the yen)
Annual Dividend¥120 per share
Payout ratio43.3 % (forecast for the fiscal year ending February 2027)
Capital expenditures¥15,718 million (actual for the fiscal year ended February 2026)
New initiativesThe Sapporo-Nishi Plant began operations on 25 May 2026 as a temporary production facility dedicated to prepared bread products
Items this document does not state (12)
Gross Profit MarginSelling, general and administrative expensesProgress against full-year forecastSelf-assessment against the planUnit price and quantity metricsRisk amount incorporated into the outlookMedium-term management plan targetsFinancial targetsAcquisition of treasury sharesOrders received and order backlogMarket Size / ShareKey points of the Q&A

These are items the company does not state in this document. We do not leave them blank, nor fill them in from other sources or by inference.

The reasons the company gives

The company's own explanation, not something inferred from the numbers.

Revenue increased despite the impact of the suspension of operations at the Sapporo Plant. Operating income declined as the improvement from revising product specifications was outweighed by higher manufacturing costs, including raw material prices, labor costs, utilities and logistics expenses, as well as the suspension of operations at the Sapporo Plant and costs associated with closing the Murayama No. 2 Plant.

How to read this page

This is not the documentKomori reads the disclosure the company filed and writes this summary. Figures are as stated by the company and are not audited.
Weight is not a verdictIt measures how much this changes what the company had already told the market. It is not a view on the shares.
Corrections happenIf the company reissues this disclosure, the page is rebuilt from the corrected version and the revision number moves up.
Supplementary Financial Results Material for the First Quarter of the Fiscal Year Ending February 2027 | WARABEYA NICHIYO HOLDINGS CO.,LTD. (2918) timely disclosure | Komori