Komori
Earnings2678ASKUL CorporationRetail

Financial Results for the Fiscal Year Ended May 2026 (Japanese GAAP) (Consolidated)

For the fiscal year ending May 2026, revenue declined sharply due mainly to the suspension of order processing following system disruptions caused by a ransomware attack, and operating income, ordinary income and net income all swung from profit to loss. For the fiscal year ending May 2027, the company expects revenue and profit to recover and forecasts an increase in the annual dividend from ¥10 in the previous fiscal year to ¥20.

Worth reading
62In focus
Scored from 4 of 6 sections
Direction
Deterioration
Direction inferred from the company’s description.
Scale
-17445
¥ million
Wording
Conditional
How definitive the wording is.

Results for this period

Full year21 May 2025 to 20 May 2026ConsolidatedJapanese GAAP
Net Sales400,199¥ millionYear on year -16.8%Progress 81.7%
Operating profit-17,445¥ million
Ordinary income-19,062¥ million
Net income attributable to owners of the parent-22,150¥ million

The width of the band at each stage is based on revenue. The narrower it becomes toward the bottom, the smaller the proportion of revenue that remains as profit. The dotted outline is the full-year forecast and the band inside it is the result for this period. The progress rate is the result divided by the forecast.

Net income per share△¥245.41
Operating MarginCurrent fiscal year -4.4 / Previous period 2.9
Financial position at period-end
Total assets229,907¥ million
of which net assets 51,455 ¥ millionEquity ratio 20.8%vs. prior year-end -13.4pt

塗りつぶした部分が自己資本比率です。総資産のうち、返済のいらない自前の資金がどれだけかを表します。The thin vertical line indicates the level at the end of the previous fiscal year.

Cash inflows and outflows
Operating-10,802
Investment-14,216
Financials+25,221
Net change+203

Stacked from zero: upward is an increase in cash, downward a decrease (in ¥ million).The net change represented by the dotted line is the total of three items, calculated from figures provided by the company.

Cash and cash equivalents at end of period¥48,624 million
Segment revenuee-Commerce business ¥393,084 million (YoY -16.8%), Logistics Business ¥6,276 million (YoY -23.6%), Other ¥1,981 million (YoY -2.4%)
Segment profite-Commerce business ¥-16,270 million, Logistics Business ¥-1,199 million, Other ¥10 million (YoY -89.0%)
Regional salesJapan More than 90% of revenue in the consolidated income statement (specific amount omitted)
Outlook and shareholder returns
Full-year earnings forecast
Net Sales¥490,000 million (YoY +22.4%)
Operating profit¥7,000 million
Ordinary income¥6,300 million
Net income¥4,000 million
Annual Dividend Forecast¥10 → ¥20(+100.0%)
Payout ratioFiscal year ending May 2026: —; fiscal year ending May 2027 (forecast): 44.8%
Factors Behind Changes in Business Performance

The temporary suspension of order processing following system disruptions caused by a ransomware attack, the prioritised shipment of low-margin products during the recovery process, large-scale sales promotion activities, lower logistics efficiency, and higher temporary costs and depreciation associated with the launch of the ASKUL Kanto Distribution Center.

Disclosure regarding the going concern assumption

Not applicable.

Change in accounting policy
基準改正に伴う変更 Noそれ以外の変更 No見積りの変更 No修正再表示 No
Changes in the scope of consolidationNew 0 companies / Excluded 0 companies / Company name Not applicable (no material changes to the scope of consolidation during the period)
Material subsequent eventsNot applicable.
Impairment loss¥4,823 million
Breakdown of extraordinary income (loss)Extraordinary income Gain on sale of non-current assets ¥45 million, Subsidy Income ¥27 million, Other ¥0 million / Extraordinary loss Impairment Losses ¥4,823 million, Loss on sale of fixed assets ¥0 million, Loss on Disposal of Fixed Assets ¥780 million, Loss on reduction of fixed assets ¥27 million, Costs related to system outage response ¥5,108 million, Other ¥62 million
Depreciation and amortization¥6,600 million
Availability of Supplementary Financial Results MaterialsYes
Availability of Financial Results BriefingWhether applicable Yes / Subject person Institutional investors and analysts
Issued Shares at Period-End89,771,300
Treasury Shares at Period-End237,728
Results for this period
ItemDetails
Fiscal Period ClassificationFull year
Accounting standardsJapanese GAAP
Consolidated / non-consolidatedConsolidated
Period Covered21 May 2025 to 20 May 2026
Net Sales¥400,199 million (YoY -16.8%)
Operating profit¥-17,445 million
Ordinary income¥-19,062 million
Profit attributable to owners of the parent¥-22,150 million
Net income per share△¥245.41
Operating MarginCurrent fiscal year -4.4 / Previous period 2.9
Equity ratioEnd of the current fiscal period 20.8 / End of previous period 34.2
Total assets¥229,907 million
Net assets¥51,455 million
Cash flows from operating activities¥-10,802 million
Cash flows from investing activities¥-14,216 million
Cash flows from financing activities¥25,221 million
Cash and cash equivalents at end of period¥48,624 million
Full-year earnings forecastNet Sales ¥490,000 million (YoY +22.4%) / Operating profit ¥7,000 million / Ordinary income ¥6,300 million / Net income ¥4,000 million
Annual Dividend Forecast¥10 → ¥20(+100.0%)
Payout ratioFiscal year ending May 2026: —; fiscal year ending May 2027 (forecast): 44.8%
Segment revenuee-Commerce business ¥393,084 million (YoY -16.8%), Logistics Business ¥6,276 million (YoY -23.6%), Other ¥1,981 million (YoY -2.4%)
Segment profite-Commerce business ¥-16,270 million, Logistics Business ¥-1,199 million, Other ¥10 million (YoY -89.0%)
Regional salesJapan More than 90% of revenue in the consolidated income statement (specific amount omitted)
Depreciation and amortization¥6,600 million
Impairment loss¥4,823 million
Breakdown of extraordinary income (loss)Extraordinary income Gain on sale of non-current assets ¥45 million, Subsidy Income ¥27 million, Other ¥0 million / Extraordinary loss Impairment Losses ¥4,823 million, Loss on sale of fixed assets ¥0 million, Loss on Disposal of Fixed Assets ¥780 million, Loss on reduction of fixed assets ¥27 million, Costs related to system outage response ¥5,108 million, Other ¥62 million
Disclosure regarding the going concern assumptionNot applicable.
Change in accounting policyChanges due to revisions to standards No / Other changes No / Change in accounting estimate No / Restatement No
Changes in the scope of consolidationNew 0 companies / Excluded 0 companies / Company name Not applicable (no material changes to the scope of consolidation during the period)
Material subsequent eventsNot applicable.
Availability of Supplementary Financial Results MaterialsYes
Availability of Financial Results BriefingWhether applicable Yes / Subject person Institutional investors and analysts
Issued Shares at Period-End89,771,300
Treasury Shares at Period-End237,728
Factors Behind Changes in Business PerformanceThe temporary suspension of order processing following system disruptions caused by a ransomware attack, the prioritised shipment of low-margin products during the recovery process, large-scale sales promotion activities, lower logistics efficiency, and higher temporary costs and depreciation associated with the launch of the ASKUL Kanto Distribution Center.
Items this document does not state (3)
Revision to Earnings ForecastShareholder Return PolicyOrders received and order backlog

These are items the company does not state in this document. We do not leave them blank, nor fill them in from other sources or by inference.

The reasons the company gives

The company's own explanation, not something inferred from the numbers.

The ransomware attack on 19 October 2025 damaged the logistics and other systems, resulting in a temporary suspension of order processing. The company recorded system recovery costs and impairment losses, and explained that profit was also pressured by the prioritised shipment of low-margin products, large-scale sales promotion activities, lower logistics efficiency and start-up costs for the ASKUL Kanto Distribution Center.

How to read this page

This is not the documentKomori reads the disclosure the company filed and writes this summary. Figures are as stated by the company and are not audited.
Weight is not a verdictIt measures how much this changes what the company had already told the market. It is not a view on the shares.
Corrections happenIf the company reissues this disclosure, the page is rebuilt from the corrected version and the revision number moves up.
Financial Results for the Fiscal Year Ended May 2026 (Japanese GAAP) (Consolidated) | ASKUL Corporation (2678) timely disclosure | Komori