Komori
Earnings2160GNI Group Ltd.Pharmaceuticals

Financial Results for the Second Quarter (Interim Period) of the Fiscal Year Ending December 2026 [IFRS] (Consolidated)

For the interim period, revenue decreased 2.6% year on year, while operating profit turned from a loss in the same period of the previous year to a profit of ¥534 million. However, the interim loss attributable to owners of the parent was ¥1,988 million. For the full year, the Company disclosed only a revenue forecast of ¥47,327 million and withdrew its profit forecasts.

Worth reading
64In focus
0–100. This measures how worthwhile something is to read, not how good or bad the company is.
Direction
Mixed performance
Direction inferred from the company’s description.
Scale
76.3
%
Wording
Avoiding a definitive answer
How definitive the wording is.

Results for this period

Interim period (second quarter)1 January 2026–30 June 2026ConsolidatedIFRS
Net Sales11,937¥ millionYear on year -2.6%Progress 25.2%
Operating profit534¥ million
Ordinary income-87¥ million
Net income attributable to owners of the parent-1,988¥ million

The width of the band at each stage is based on revenue. The narrower it becomes toward the bottom, the smaller the proportion of revenue that remains as profit. The dotted outline is the full-year forecast and the band inside it is the result for this period. The progress rate is the result divided by the forecast.

Net income per share△¥35.66
Financial position at period-end
Total assets81,760¥ million
of which net assets 66,497 ¥ millionEquity ratio 49.5%vs. prior year-end -10.6pt

塗りつぶした部分が自己資本比率です。総資産のうち、返済のいらない自前の資金がどれだけかを表します。The thin vertical line indicates the level at the end of the previous fiscal year.

Cash inflows and outflows
Operating-1,606
Investment-2,505
Financials-191
Net change-4,302

Stacked from zero: upward is an increase in cash, downward a decrease (in ¥ million).The net change represented by the dotted line is the total of three items, calculated from figures provided by the company.

Cash and cash equivalents at end of period¥17,164 million
Segment revenuePharmaceuticals Business ¥8,919 million (YoY +8.8%), Medical Equipment Business ¥3,017 million (YoY -25.6%)
Segment profitPharmaceuticals Business ¥2,734 million, Medical Equipment Business ¥-2,200 million
Outlook and shareholder returns
Full-year earnings forecast
Net Sales¥47,327 million (YoY +76.3%)
Operating profitNot disclosed
Ordinary incomeNot disclosed
Net incomeNot disclosed
Revision to Earnings ForecastNet Sales Not disclosed → ¥47,327 million / Operating profit Not disclosed / Ordinary income Not disclosed / Net income Not disclosed
Annual Dividend Forecast¥0 → ¥0(0.0%)
Factors Behind Changes in Business Performance

The pharmaceuticals business recorded higher revenue due to solid sales of the Aisuirui pharmaceutical product and strengthened sales and marketing activities. The medical devices business recorded lower revenue due to the impact of revisions to the U.S. Medicare system, despite the consolidation effect of ZOO LABO. On the earnings side, the ¥6,596 million gain from the reversal of accrued interest payable contributed to higher profit, while expenses related to acquisitions and integration, F351, and share-based compensation were incurred.

Disclosure regarding the going concern assumption

Not applicable.

Change in accounting policy
基準改正に伴う変更 Yesそれ以外の変更 No見積りの変更 No修正再表示 Not disclosed
Changes in the scope of consolidationNew 0 companies / Excluded 0 companies / Company name None
Material subsequent eventsThe acquisition of all shares of あゆみ製薬ホールディングス株式会社, making it a wholly owned subsidiary effective 1 July 2026; a third-party allotment of shares relating to part of the acquisition consideration; and a ¥20,000 million borrowing to fund the acquisition.
Breakdown of extraordinary income (loss)Gain on reversal of accrued interest payable (other income) 6,596
Depreciation and amortization¥630 million
Availability of Supplementary Financial Results MaterialsYes
Availability of Financial Results BriefingAvailable (for institutional investors and analysts)
Issued Shares at Period-End55,843,127
Treasury Shares at Period-End13,643
Results for this period
ItemDetails
Fiscal Period ClassificationInterim period (second quarter)
Accounting standardsIFRS
Consolidated / non-consolidatedConsolidated
Period Covered1 January 2026–30 June 2026
Net Sales¥11,937 million (YoY -2.6%)
Operating profit¥534 million
Ordinary income¥-87 million
Profit attributable to owners of the parent¥-1,988 million
Net income per share△¥35.66
Equity ratioEnd of the current fiscal period 49.5 / End of previous period 60.1
Total assets¥81,760 million
Net assets¥66,497 million
Cash flows from operating activities¥-1,606 million
Cash flows from investing activities¥-2,505 million
Cash flows from financing activities¥-191 million
Cash and cash equivalents at end of period¥17,164 million
Full-year earnings forecastNet Sales ¥47,327 million (YoY +76.3%) / Operating profit Not disclosed / Ordinary income Not disclosed / Net income Not disclosed
Revision to Earnings ForecastNet Sales Not disclosed → ¥47,327 million / Operating profit Not disclosed / Ordinary income Not disclosed / Net income Not disclosed
Annual Dividend Forecast¥0 → ¥0(0.0%)
Segment revenuePharmaceuticals Business ¥8,919 million (YoY +8.8%), Medical Equipment Business ¥3,017 million (YoY -25.6%)
Segment profitPharmaceuticals Business ¥2,734 million, Medical Equipment Business ¥-2,200 million
Depreciation and amortization¥630 million
Breakdown of extraordinary income (loss)Gain on reversal of accrued interest payable (other income) 6,596
Disclosure regarding the going concern assumptionNot applicable.
Change in accounting policyChanges due to revisions to standards Yes / Other changes No / Change in accounting estimate No / Restatement Not disclosed
Changes in the scope of consolidationNew 0 companies / Excluded 0 companies / Company name None
Material subsequent eventsThe acquisition of all shares of あゆみ製薬ホールディングス株式会社, making it a wholly owned subsidiary effective 1 July 2026; a third-party allotment of shares relating to part of the acquisition consideration; and a ¥20,000 million borrowing to fund the acquisition.
Availability of Supplementary Financial Results MaterialsYes
Availability of Financial Results BriefingAvailable (for institutional investors and analysts)
Issued Shares at Period-End55,843,127
Treasury Shares at Period-End13,643
Factors Behind Changes in Business PerformanceThe pharmaceuticals business recorded higher revenue due to solid sales of the Aisuirui pharmaceutical product and strengthened sales and marketing activities. The medical devices business recorded lower revenue due to the impact of revisions to the U.S. Medicare system, despite the consolidation effect of ZOO LABO. On the earnings side, the ¥6,596 million gain from the reversal of accrued interest payable contributed to higher profit, while expenses related to acquisitions and integration, F351, and share-based compensation were incurred.
Items this document does not state (6)
Operating MarginPayout ratioShareholder Return PolicyRegional salesOrders received and order backlogImpairment loss

These are items the company does not state in this document. We do not leave them blank, nor fill them in from other sources or by inference.

The reasons the company gives

The company's own explanation, not something inferred from the numbers.

In the pharmaceuticals business, sales of the Aisuirui pharmaceutical product remained solid, and the effects of strengthened sales and marketing activities also emerged. In the medical devices business, revenue declined due to the impact of revisions to the U.S. Medicare system. On the earnings side, a gain of ¥6,596 million from the reversal of accrued interest payable contributed to higher profit, but expenses related to acquisitions and integration, commercialization preparation for F351, research and development, and share-based compensation were incurred. The reason for not disclosing profit forecasts is that the timing and scale of upfront investment toward new drug approvals and development remain fluid, making a reasonable estimate difficult at this time.

How to read this page

This is not the documentKomori reads the disclosure the company filed and writes this summary. Figures are as stated by the company and are not audited.
Weight is not a verdictIt measures how much this changes what the company had already told the market. It is not a view on the shares.
Corrections happenIf the company reissues this disclosure, the page is rebuilt from the corrected version and the revision number moves up.
Financial Results for the Second Quarter (Interim Period) of the Fiscal Year Ending December 2026 [IFRS] (Consolidated) | GNI Group Ltd. (2160) timely disclosure | Komori